T +33(0)388412560

www.coe.int

pressunit@coe.int

Ref. DC 008(2011)

5 Eurimages films win Awards in Cannes

The 2011 Cannes Film Festival jury has awarded the Grand Prix to two films supported by Eurimages: Le Gamin au vélo (The Kid with the Bike) by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, a Belgian, French and Italian co-production, and Bir Zamanlar Anadolu'da (Once upon a time in Anatolia) by Nuri Bilge Ceylan, a co-production between Turkey and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The American actress **Kirsten Dunst** won the **Best Actress prize** for **Melancholia** by Lars Von Trier, a Danish, German, French and Swedish co-production supported by Eurimages. The Danish director's films have frequently been selected at the Cannes Film Festival, incuding several that have been supported by Eurimages.

Two further Eurimages-supported films were distinguished by other juries at the Festival: L'Exercice de l'Etat (The Minister) by Pierre Schoeller, a French and Belgian coproduction, won the International Critics' Prize (FIPRESCI) for the Un Certain Regard selection, while the Ecumenical Jury awarded its prize to This must be the place, an Italian, French and Irish co-production by Paolo Sorrentino.

All of the the co-productions that won awards at this year's **Cannes Film Festival** were supported by Eurimages. Through such masterpieces, which illustrate Europe's rich cultural diversity, the Fund has once again demonstrated its commitment to creative cinema, confirming once the value of the **Eurimages** label.

* * *

EURIMAGES is a support fund for the co-production, distribution and exhibition of European cinematographic works, established by the Council of Europe in 1988 (E-mail: Eurimages@coe.int – Web: http://www.coe.int/Eurimages) (1).

Since it was set up in 1988, EURIMAGES has supported 1364 European coproductions for a total amount of approximately 412 million euros.

⁽¹⁾ Since 1 March 2011, EURIMAGES has 35 member states: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Turkey.