T +33388413193 F +33390214134 http://assembly.coe.int pace.com@coe.int

PACE 126 (2015)

PACE elects Georges Ravarani judge of the European Court of Human Rights in respect of Luxembourg

Strasbourg, 23.06.2015 - The Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) today elected Georges Ravarani as judge to the European Court of Human Rights in respect of Luxembourg.

Mr Ravarani, having obtained an absolute majority of votes cast, is elected a judge of the European Court of Human Rights for a term of office of nine years which shall commence as from 1 November 2015.

Judges are elected by PACE from a list of three candidates nominated by each State which has ratified the European Convention on Human Rights.

Voting result List and curricula vitae of candidates How are judges of the European Court of Human Rights elected?



The Assembly brings together 324 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states.

President: Anne Brasseur (ALDE) - Secretary General of the Assembly: Wojciech Sawicki.

Political groups: EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); SOC (Socialist Group);

EC (European Conservatives Group); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe);

UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).