Ress **R**elease

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 268a06 Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press

46 members

Albania

PACE to observe partial re-run of parliamentary elections in Azerbaijan

Strasbourg, 11.05.2006 – An eighteen-member delegation from the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), headed by Leo Platvoet (Netherlands, UEL), will observe the partial re-run of the Azerbaijan parliamentary elections on 13 May 2006.

Following the poll on 6 November 2005, repeat elections are being held in ten constituencies in which the Central Election Commission and the Constitutional Court annulled the results. PACE said the original elections did not meet international standards despite some improvements.

The delegation, which will be in the country from 11 to 15 May 2006, will meet representatives of political parties and blocs, electoral officials and NGO representatives and will observe polling on the day of the vote.

The observers will announce their conclusions at a press conference at 1 p.m. on Sunday 14 May at the Council of Europe information office in Baku (39-41 Boyuk Gala street, Icheri Sheher, Baku 1004).

A "pre-election" delegation which visited the country from 27 to 28 April 2006 expressed concern at the lack of signs of democratic progress in the run-up to the partial election re-run.

The Assembly is due to consider the issue at its next plenary session (26-30 June 2006).

Link to a provisional list of the delegationLink to the full text of the pre-election statementLinktoResolution1480Link to the full assessment of the 6 November parliamentary elections

Contact: Bas Klein, mobile +33 (0)6 62 26 54 89, or the Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit, tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 31 93.

The Parliamentary Assembly brings together 315 members from the national parliaments of the 46 member states. President: René van der Linden (Netherlands, EPP/CD); Secretary General of the Assembly: Mateo Sorinas. Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).



Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom