T +33(0)390214895

Ref. CG-PR 090 (2013)

Congress delegation carried out a post-monitoring visit in Bosnia and Herzegovina

The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe carried out a post-monitoring visit to Bosnia and Herzegovina on 10 and 11 December 2013. Congress Rapporteurs
Beat Hirs (Switzerland, ILDG) and Jean-Marie Belliard (France, EPP/CCE) examined the follow-up to Recommendation 324 (2012) on local and regional democracy in this country. They were accompanied by Jean-Philippe Bozouls, Executive Secretary of the Chamber of Local Authorities of the Congress. The aim of the Congress post-monitoring activity is to develop a political dialogue and agree on a roadmap for the implementation of its recommendations.

High level meetings were held notably with representatives of the government; Mirsad Kebo, Vice-President of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Fehim Škaljić, Chairman of the House of Representatives of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina Lejla Rešić, Minister of Administration and Local Government of Republika Srpska, Branislav Borenović, President of EU Integration and Regional Cooperation Committee. Rapporteurs also held meetings with the Bosnia and Herzegovina Congress delegation, the Head of the Council of Europe Office in Sarajevo, Mary-Ann Hennessey, and with experts.

The rapporteurs reaffirmed to the authorities the readiness of the Congress to assist the authorities of Bosnia and Herzegovina in their declared intention to strengthen local democracy. The conclusion of the rapporteurs will be presented during the next monitoring Committee meeting on 19 February 2014 in Nicosia, Cyprus.

Contact: Stéphanie POIREL: Secretary to the Congress Monitoring Committee:

Mobile : +33 (0) 6 63 55 07 10

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.
It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.
President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)
Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People’s Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group  (ECR)