T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 59 (2015)

## Bulgarian chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers: Congress Bureau meets in Sofia

Strasbourg, 07.12.2015 – In the context of the Bulgarian chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities has been invited by the Bulgarian authorities to hold the next meeting of its Bureau in Sofia on 10 and 11 December 2015.

Items on the agenda will include the situation in Ukraine, the priorities of the Congress (2017-2020) and a current-affairs debate on a topic to be decided at the opening of the meeting.

On 11 December, Bureau members will hold an exchange of views with Yordanka Fandakova, Mayor of Sofia, and Nayden Zelenogorski, Chair of the Parliamentary Committee on Regional Policy, Public Works and Local Self-Government.

On the sidelines of the Bureau meeting, Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), Congress President, and Andreas Kiefer, Secretary General, will meet Lyliana Pavlova, Minister for Regional Development and Public Works.

On 10 December, a Congress delegation comprising Jean-Claude Frécon and Marie-Madeleine Mialot Muller (France, SOC), Chair of the Congress Governance Committee, will meet members of the Bulgarian Parliamentary Committee on Regional Policy, Public Works and Local Self-Government.

On the same day, Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC), President of the Chamber of Regions, and Andreas Kiefer, Secretary General, will meet public administration students from Sofia University.

Jean-Claude Frécon will also speak on behalf of the Congress at the forum of newly elected mayors being held by the National Association of Municipalities in the Republic of Bulgaria on 11 December.

## A press conference will be held at the Sofia Radisson Blu Hotel at 10.15 am on 11 December.

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 324 full and 324 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)