4 November 2011


Lisbon, Coimbra and Vila Nova de Poiares

7 - 9 November 2011


Congress delegation:


Mr Devrim ÇUKUR                                 Rapporteur on regional democracy

Member of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress

Chamber of Regions, SOC[1]

Member of the Provincial Council of Izmir (Turkey)

Mr Jos WIENEN                                    Rapporteur on local democracy

Member of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress

Chamber of Local Authorities, EPP/CD[2]

Mayor of Katwijk (The Netherlands)


Mr Bernd SEMMELROGGEN                 Consultant (Germany)

Member of the Group of Independent Experts on the European

Charter of Local Self-Government of the Congress

Congress Secretariat

Ms Stéphanie POIREL                           Secretary of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress

Mission mob.:+33 6 50 39 29 16

E-mail: stephanie.poirel@coe.int

Consecutive interpretation provided in Portuguese and English

ail: info@cityhotel.si

Monday, 7 November 2011

Joint Meeting with:

-      the Portuguese Delegation to the Congress:

Mr Alberto Joao Jardim, Head of Delegation, Gouvernor of the Autonomous Region of Madeira

Mr Artur TORRES PEREIRA, President of the Municipal Assembly of Sousel

Ms Julia COSTA, Mayor of Caminha

Mr Guilherme Pinto, Mayor of Matosinhos

-      the National Association of Portuguese Municipalities (ANMP):

Mr Fernando Cruz, Deputy Secretary-General

-      the National Association of Parishes (ANAFRE):

Mr Armando Vieira, President

Mr Cândido Moreira, Vice-President

Mr Paulo Quaresma, Vice-President

Mr Jorge SILVEIRA, Deputy Ombudsman

Mr Guilherme D’OLIVEIRA MARTINS, President of the Court of Audit

Mr Rui Manuel GENS DE MOURA RAMOS, President of the Constitutional Court

Tuesday, 8 November 2011

Joint meeting with:

Mr Paulo SIMOES JULIO, Secretary of State for Local Administration and Administrative Reform

Ms Eugénia ALMEIDA SANTOS, General Director for Local Administration

Mr António Luís DOS SANTOS DA COSTA, Mayor of Lisbon

Mr Antonio ALMEIDA HENRIQUES, Deputy Secretary of State for Economy and Regional Development

Meeting with experts on the local and regional democracy in Portugal:


Head of the Research Center for Regional and Local Development (CEDREL)

Ms Susana Margarida FAUSTINO JORGE

Researcher, Assistant professor to the University of Coimbra

Meeting with the representatives of the Ministry for Finance and Public Administration:

Mr Hélder ROSALINO, Secretary of State for Public Administration

Mrs Madalena TRAVISCO, Advisor to the Private Office of the Secretary of State

Meeting with representatives of the Lisbon Metropolitan Area:

Mr Carlos Humberto PALÁCIOS PINHEIRO DE CARVALHO, President of the Junta

Mrs Sofia LONA CID, General Secretary

Joint meeting with the representatives of the Parliamentary Committees:

Mr Ramos PRETO, Chair of the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Environment, Regional Planning and Local Government

Mr Eduardo CABRITA, Chair of the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Budget, Finance and Public Administration

Wednesday, 9 November 2011

Mr João Paulo BARBOSA DE MELO, Mayor of Coimbra

Mr Jaime Carlos Marta SOARES, Mayor of Vila Nova de Poiares

[1] SOC : Socialist Group

[2] EPP/CD : European People’s Party – Christian Democrats of the Congress