



## 47th SESSION CPR(2024)47-PV

## MINUTES

Wednesday 16 October 2024		
Cham	ber of Regions	
09.00 ·	– 12.30, Room 1	
1.	Opening of the session of the Chamber by the First Vice-President	
	Gunn Marit HELGESEN, Norway (EPP/CCE) First Vice-President of the Chamber, declared the 47th Session of the Chamber of Regions open at 09.05.	
2.	Adoption of the agenda of the Chamber	
	The agenda in document CG(2024)47-OJ was adopted.	
3.	Election of the President of the Chamber	
	The First Vice-President informed the Chamber that the Executive Secretary had received the name of one candidate for the office of the President, Cecilia DALMAN EEK, Sweden (SOC/G/PD) and that the candidature complied with Rules 13.3 and 14.2 of the Rules and Procedures of the Congress.	
	A test vote was carried out.	
	Cecilia DALMAN EEK addressed the Chamber.	
	The Chamber proceeded to vote.	
	Cecilia DALMAN EEK was declared elected as President, in accordance with Rule 14.4 of the Rules and Procedures of the Congress.	
	The First Vice-President congratulated the new President.	
4.	Communication of the First Vice-President of the Chamber	
	The First Vice-President presented her statement in document CPR(2024)47-01.	
	Cecilia DALMAN EEK, President of the Chamber, took the chair at 09.35.	
5.	Statement by the newly elected President of the Chamber	
	Cecilia DALMAN EEK, newly elected President, made a statement.	
6.	Regions with special status	
	The President informed the Chamber that the concept note for the debate was in CPR(2024)47-02.	
	The President welcomed the following speakers and invited them to make statements:	

	<ul> <li>Jörgen PETTERSSON, Speaker of the Parliament of Åland, Finland</li> <li>Artur LIMA, Vice-President of Regional Government of the Azores, Portugal</li> <li>Mikel Anton ZARRAGOITIA, European Affairs Director, Basque Government, Spain</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Boris LENNAERTZ, Youth delegate, Belgium.</li> <li>Jörgen PETTERSSON, Artur LIMA, Mikel Anton ZARRAGOITIA and Boris LENNAERTZ</li> </ul>
	made statements.
	The debate was opened.
	Speaker: Frederic BIERRY, France (L, EPP/CCE)
	The debate was closed.
	The President thanked Jörgen PETTERSSON, Artur LIMA, Mikel Anton ZARRAGOITIA and Boris LENNAERTZ.
7.	Digitalisation, artificial intelligence and regional governance
	The President informed the Chamber that the concept note for the debate was in document CPR(2024)47-02.
	The President welcomed the following speakers and invited them to make statements:
	<ul> <li>David ERAY, Congress Spokesperson on AI, Minister, Canton of Jura,</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Switzerland</li> <li>María BOBILLO VARELA, Director of the Office of Strategic Support and Planning Agency for the Technological Modernization of Galicia, Spain</li> <li>Marco REUTER, Head of the Digitalisation and Innovation Division at the Representation of the State of Hesse to the EU, Germany</li> <li>Ivan DONEV, Youth Delegate, North Macedonia.</li> </ul>
	David ERAY, María BOBILLO VARELA, Marco REUTER and Ivan DONEV made statements.
	The debate was opened.
	Speakers: Gunther BERGMANN, Germany (EPP/CCE); Rachid EL ABDI, Morocco (Partner for Local Democracy); Afia Mansoor AHMED, Germany (Youth Delegate); Sofia CAMAGLIA, Italy (Youth Delegate); Ilgin PASLI-BROMBACH, Türkiye, (Youth Delegate); Elianne DEMOLLIN-SCHNEIDERS, Netherlands (EPP/CCE); Ervin KOLAREC, Croatia (EPP/CCE); Danijel BACAN, Croatia (Youth Delegate); Gunes PEHLIVAN, Türkiye (SOC/G/PD); Tobias REINHOFER, Austria (Youth Delegate).
	Ivan DONEV, Marco REUTER, María BOBILLO VARELA and David ERAY replied to the debate.
	The debate was closed.
	The President thanked David ERAY, María BOBILLO VARELA, Marco REUTER and Ivan DONEV.
8.	The role of regions in international co-operation for the recovery and reconstruction of Ukraine
	The President informed the chamber that the concept note for the debate was in document CPR(2024)47-02.
	The President welcomed the following speakers and invited them to make statements:
	<ul> <li>Tetyana YEHOROVA-LUTSENKO, President of the Ukrainian Association of District and Regional Councils, Chair of Kharkiv Regional Council, Ukraine (online participant)</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Pavlo ZHURBA, Deputy Head of Ternopil Regional State Administration, Ukraine</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Patrick MOLINOZ, Vice President of Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, President of the Commission for Citizenship, Governance, Institutional and External Affairs, France</li> </ul>
	Anita SCHNEIDER, President (Landrätin) of the Gießen district, Germany.
	Tetyana YEHOROVA-LUTSENKO, Pavlo ZHURBA, Patrick MOLINOZ and Anita

	SCHNEIDER made statements.
	The debate was opened.
	Speakers: Sören SCHUMACHER, Germany (SOC/G/PD); Sonja LEDL-ROSSMANN, Austria (EPP/CCE); Mykola LUKASHUK, Ukraine (ILDG); Iuliia VUSENKO, Ukraine (EPP/CCE); Vania FREITAS, Belgium (Representative of the Assembly of European Regions); Grigore RINJA, Republic of Moldova (Youth Delegate); Christian DEBEVE, France (ILDG).
	Anita SCHNEIDER, Patrick MOLINOZ, Pavlo ZHURBA and Tetyana YEHOROVA- LUTSENKO replied to the debate.
	The debate was closed.
	The President thanked Tetyana YEHOROVA-LUTSENKO, Pavlo ZHURBA, Patrick MOLINOZ and Anita SCHNEIDER.
9.	Adoption of the abridged report of the Session of the Chamber
	The abridged report of the Session of the Chamber, in document CPR(2024)47-DEC, was adopted.
10.	Close of the Session of the Chamber by the President
	The President informed members that the next Session of the Chamber would take place during the 48th Session of the Congress on 26 March 2025.
	The President thanked the members of the Chamber for their participation and declared
	the 47th Session of the Chamber closed at 12:32.