97/2398 CONGRESS020854

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of Europe Chamber of Local Authorities

Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux de l'Europe Chambre des pouvoirs locaux

Strasbourg 3 June 1997

CPL (4) PV1 prov.

THE CHAMBER OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES

FOURTH SESSION

First Sitting

TUESDAY 3 JUNE 1997

at 10.30 am

MINUTES

Dr HOFMANN, the President, took the Chair at 10.44 am.

1. OPENING OF THE SESSION

The President declared open the Fourth Session of the Chamber of Local Authorities.

2. ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The list of members attending the sitting is appended hereto.

3. STATEMENT BY THE PRESIDENT

The President addressed the Chamber.

4. ADOPTION OF DRAFT AGENDA

The draft Agenda of the Chamber was adopted [Doc. CPL(4)OJ1 prov].

5. MODIFICATION TO THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE CHAMBER

Mr CHÉNARD (France) presented the Report of the Bureau [Doc. CG(4)11 rev] on improved co-ordination of the rules of procedure of the Congress and its two Chambers and the draft Resolution [Doc. CPL(4)1 Res] on amending the Chamber's rules of procedure.

The discussion was opened.

Speaker: Mr DE CARVALHO RUAS (Portugal)

The discussion was closed.

The draft Resolution contained in Doc. CPL(4)1 Res was adopted.

The President informed members that the new rules would take immediate effect.

6. <u>DRAFT EUROPEAN CHARTER OF REGIONAL SELF-GOVERNMENT</u>

Mrs JAGGI (Switzerland) presented the draft Opinion [Doc. CPL(4)2] and explanatory memorandum [Doc. CPL (4)2, Part II] on the European Charter of Regional Self-Government.

The discussion was opened.

<u>Speakers:</u> Mr KNAPE (Sweden), Dr ZAHN (Germany), Dr VAN STAA (Austria), Mr SIMONSEN (Denmark), Mr OLBRYCHT (Poland), Mr BOLYAK (Russian Federation), Mr TCHERNOFF (Netherlands), Mr DE SABBATA (Italy)

Mrs JAGGI replied to the discussion.

The discussion was closed.

Mr DE SABBATA (Italy) presented Amendment No. 1 to add a new paragraph 17 to the draft Opinion, as follows:

"17. Requests that Article 7, paragraph 1 of the Charter be replaced by the following text:

'1. The regions which possess competences concerning local authorities shall respect the spirit and the letter of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in their relations with such authorities'."

The amendment was not adopted.

The draft Opinion contained in Doc. Opinion CPL(4)2 was adopted.

Dr VAN STAA, a Vice-President, took the Chair at 11.55 am.

7. <u>LOCAL DEMOCRACY</u>

Mr CHÉNARD (France) presented the Report of the working group on the situation of local democracy in member countries [Doc. CPL(4)3, Part II].

Mr CASAGRANDE (France) presented the Report [Doc. CPL(4)4, Part II] from the working group on the implementation of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in Italy.

The President invited Mr OPRIŞ, Deputy Minister, Secretariat of the Government and the Department of Local Public Administration (Romania) to address the Chamber.

Mr OPRIŞ addressed the Chamber.

The President thanked Mr OPRIŞ for his remarks.

The discussion was opened.

<u>Speakers:</u> Mr DE SABBATA (Italy), Mrs WOLTERINK-OREMUS (Netherlands), Mr DEMSZKY (Hungary), Mr KOSSAKIWSKY (Ukraine).

1

The debate was adjourned.

8. DATE, TIME AND ORDERS OF THE DAY OF THE NEXT SITTING

The next sitting would be held on Wednesday 4 June at 9.00 am, with the following orders of the day:

1. Local Democracy

- Resumed debate and votes on the draft Resolution (Doc CPL (4) 3 Resolution), and on the draft Recommendation (Doc CPL (4) 4 Recommendation) and amendments.

2. Crime and Urban Insecurity in Europe

- Presentation by Mr MANS (Netherlands) of the report (Doc CPL (4) 5 Part II).
- Statement by Mr Alexander VORONIN, Deputy Minister of Nationalities and Minorities (Russian Federation).
- Debate, including contributions by:

Dr Heinrich HOFFSCHULTE (Germany), Chairman of the Committee for European Questions of EUREGIO, on aspects of transfrontier crime.

Mr Fode SYLLA (France), President of SOS-Racisme, on multiethnic society and crime.

Mr John PARKER (United Kingdom), consultant on architecture and urban planning, on urban environment and crime.

- Votes on the draft Recommendation (Doc CPL (4) 5 Recommendation) and the draft Resolution (Doc CPL (4) 5 Resolution) and an amendment.

3. Future priorities of the Chamber

Debate.

The sitting was closed at 1.05 p.m.

<u>LISTE DE PRESENCE</u> CHAMBRE DES POUVOIRS LOCAUX, 3 JUIN 1997

Mr ADAMCZYK
Mr ADAMOV
Mr ANDRONOV
Mr ANGHEL
Ms ARNHOLM
Ms ATIG

Dr (Ms) BAYRAKTAR

Mr BEKTES
Ms BENNETT
Mr BERZINS
Dr BILGIN

Ms BLOEMENDAAL-LINDHOUT

Mr BODEAN Mr BODROV Mr BOLYAK Mr BORG

Mr BREGARTNER Ms BRODNIANSKA

Mr BÜRGE Mr BURGEON Ms CARPENCO Mr CASAGRANDE

Mr CAVINI
Mr CHIRITA
Mr CIGER
Mr CIUHANDU
Mr CORGHI
Mr COULTER
Mr CZAJKOWSKI
Mr DE GRAVE

Mr DEMSZKY Mr DE GRAVE Mr DEMSZKY Ms DOGANOGLU

Mr DOHNAL
Mr ENG
Dr ENGEL
Ms ENQVIST
Mr FALK
Mr FARANDJA

Mr FRECON Ms FRENCH Prof FRENDO Mr FRUGIS Mr GANHAO Mr GERZHOV Mr GUEGAN Dr HAAS Mr HARRIS Ms HELLER Ms HERWEIJER Mr HITIER

Mr HLADUNIAK Dr HOFMANN Mr HOOP Mme JAGGI Mr JANOWSKI Mr JARINA

Mr JIRSA

Mr KATANANDOV

Mr KEIGHT
Mr KNAPE
Mr KOCZUR
Mr KOSAKIVSKY
Dr KRAMARIC
Mr KUYBIDA
Mr LÄSSING
Mme LAURELLI
Mr LLOYD

Mr LYCOURGOS Dr MAGYAR

Ms LUND

Mr MANUECO ALONSO Ms MATVECEVSKAYA

Mr MEINTZ Mr MIHAIESI

Mr MORCILLO CARBONERES
Mr MOREIRA DE ALMEIDA

Mr MORGAN
Mr MURD
Mr NEFAS
Mr NICUT
Mr NOVOSAD
Mr OBULJEN
Mr OLBRYCHT
Mr PAOUR
Mr PELLEGRIN

Mr PELLEGRINI Ms PELLINEN Mr PENOV

Mr PETUSIK

Mr PHILIPPOU

Mr PRACKOVSKI

Mr PREVOT

Mr PROSCANU

Mr ROGOV

Mr ROPPE

Mr ROSSENOV

Mr SALTYKOV

Mr SCHOCKMEL

Mr SCIUROVAS

Mr SERCEK

Mr SIMONSEN

Mr SIURANA I ZARAGOZA

Mr SKARD

Mr SOARES

Mr SOCHANSKI

Mr SOUCHAL

Ms SPASSOVA-STOYANOVA

Ms STEFANSDOTTIR

Ms SUCEC TRAKOSTANEC

Mr SUSHKO

Mr SZABO

Mr T. VILHJALMSSON

Mr TCHERNEZKY

Mr TCHERNOFF

Ms TOLONEN

Mr VALLEJO DE OLEJUA

Mr VAN DER DOEF

Dr VAN STAA

Mr VANICEK

Mr VIKTORSSON

Mr VILA BASTIDA

Mr VOIGEMAST

Mr WAGNER

Mr WINKLER

Dr WINTER

Ms WOLTERINK-OREMUS

Ms YENER

Ms ZACESTA

Dr ZAHN

Mr ZELGER

Mr ZHARAVIN