COUNCIL OF EUROPE COMMITTEE OF MINISTERS

RESOLUTION (78) 36

ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION OF HUMAN RIGHTS

(Adopted by the Committee of Ministers on 30 June 1978 at the 290th meeting of the Ministers' Deputies)

The Committee of Ministers.

Having regard to Articles 19, 20, 21 and 22 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms;

Considering that the terms of office of the members of the European Commission of Human Rights elected in respect of Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway and the United Kingdom expired on 17 May 1978;

Having regard to the list of candidates for vacant seats drawn up by the Bureau of the Consultative Assembly, in accordance with Article 21, paragraph 1, of the convention, on the proposal of the Representatives to the Assembly of Belgium. Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway and the United Kingdom, transmitted to the Chairman of the Committee of Ministers by the President of the Assembly;

Having voted, by secret ballot,

Declares the following candidates elected or re-elected as members of the European Commission of Human Rights with effect from 18 May 1978 for a term of office which will expire on 17 May 1984 :

Mr Michel Melchior (Belgium)

Mr Carl Aage Nørgaard (Denmark)

Mr Jochen A. Frowein (Federal Republic of Germany)

Mr Edwin Busuttil (Malta)

Mr Carl H.F. Polak (Netherlands)

Mr Torkel Opsahl (Norway)

Mr James E.S. Fawcett (United Kingdom).