

AS/Per (2023) CB 02 15 May 2023

To the members of the Standing Committee

Synopsis of the meeting held in Reykjavik, Iceland on 15 May 2023

The Standing Committee, meeting on 15 May in Reykjavik, with Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Assembly, in the Chair:

- heard a welcome address by Mr Birgir Ármannsson, Speaker of Alþingi Parliament of Iceland;
- heard an online address by Mr Ruslan Stefanchuk, Speaker of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine;
- within the framework of the Special event on the 4th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Council of Europe – United around values in the face of extraordinary challenges:
 - heard the introductory remarks by Mr Bjarni Jónsson, Chairperson of the Icelandic delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly;
 - heard the remarks by Mr Bjørn Berge, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe;
 - held a panel discussion on "The Council of Europe as a key player of the multilateral architecture", moderated by Ms Rósa Björk Brynjólfsdóttir, Office of the Prime Minister of Iceland and former Chairperson of the Icelandic delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly, with the participation of Ms Þórdís Kolbrún Reykfjörð Gylfadóttir, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Iceland; Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Assembly: Ms Sylvie Bermann, former Ambassador of France to Beijing, London, and Moscow; and Ms Alice Bergholtz, Vice-Chair of the Advisory Council on Youth, Council of Europe;
 - held a panel discussion on "The Council of Europe as a pioneer of human rights protection: the new generation of rights", moderated by Ms Rósa Björk Brynjólfsdóttir, Office of the Prime Minister of Iceland and former Chairperson of the Icelandic delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly, with the participation of Ms Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister of Iceland; Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Assembly; Ms Ilze Brands Kehris, United Nations Assistant Secretary-General for Human Rights; Ms Nathalie Smuha, Researcher and Assistant Lecturer, Institute for European Law, KU Leuven, expert on Artificial Intelligence; and Ms Tinna Hallgrímsdóttir, youth representative in the Icelandic Climate Council;
 - heard an address by Ms Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Leader of the Belarus democratic opposition;
 - heard concluding remarks by Ms Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister of Iceland, and Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Parliamentary Assembly;
- decided to hold its next meeting in Riga, Latvia, on 26 May 2023.

Sonia Sirtori, Greta Faggiani

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe