

Strasbourg, 26 April 2018

T-PD(2018)10

# CONSULTATIVE COMMITTE OF THE CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS WITH REGARD TO AUTOMATIC PROCESSING OF PERSONAL DATA (Convention 108)

Memorandum by the Secretariat concerning elections

Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law

### I - RULES OF PROCEDURES OF THE CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

The rules of procedures of the Committee stipulate:

"Article 10: Chair and Vice-Chairs

- 1. The Chair, the first Vice-Chair and the second Vice-Chair shall be elected by a majority of the members present from among the representatives for a period of two years. The elections shall not, by default, be held by secret ballot unless specifically requested.
- 2. The Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for re-election for a second consecutive term of office. In exceptional cases, the Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for a third consecutive term of office. However, the term shall end if they cease to be a member of the Committee.

Article 10 bis: Membership, functions and competences of the Bureau

- 1. The Bureau shall be composed of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs of the Committee, together with four elected members and the outgoing Chair who may remain a member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate(s) of the new Chair. The other members shall be elected from among the representatives on the Committee for a period of two years. The members shall be eligible for re-election.
- 2. If a member of the Bureau ceases to be a member of the Committee or resigns his/her office before its normal expiry, the Committee may elect a successor for the remainder of the term of that office".

#### **II- PRESENT SITUATION**

The Bureau of the Committee comprises eight members and its current membership is as follows:

- Ms. Alessandra Pierucci (Italy, elected Chair in July 2016 for a term of two years)
- Mr Jean-Philippe Walter (Switzerland, elected 1st Vice-Chair in July 2016 for a term of two years) member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate of the chair of Ms. Alessandra Pierucci.
- Mr Gérard Lommel (Luxembourg, elected 2nd Vice-Chair in July 2016 for a term of two years)
- Mr João Pedro Cabral (Portugal, elected in July 2016 for two years)
- Ms. Tamar Kaldani (Georgia, elected in July 2016 for two years)
- Ms. Agnès Maîtrepierre (France, elected in July 2016 for two years)
- Ms. Maria Michaelidou (Cyprus, elected in July 2016 for two years)
- Ms. Nevena Ružić (Serbia, elected in July 2016 for two years)

### **III- ELECTIONS FOR THE COMMITTEE IN JUNE 2018**

During its 36<sup>th</sup> Plenary meeting, from 19 to 21 June 2018, the Committee is invited to hold elections or re-elections for the following posts:

- Chair of the Committee for two years
- 1st Vice-Chair of the Committee for two years
- 2nd Vice-Chair of the Committee for two years
- 4 Committee Bureau members for two years

(The remaining seat of the Bureau is attributed *de iure* to the outgoing Chair).

# **IV. PROCEDURE FOR ELECTIONS**

Representatives of Parties to the Convention who wish to be candidates or who would like to propose another candidate are invited, to inform the Secretariat of the Committee as soon as possible and no later than Wednesday 20 June 2018, 5 pm. An election by secret ballot will, when necessary, take place on Thursday 21 June 2018.

# **APPENDIX**

The Delegations represented on the Bureau of the Committee as from 2004 are as follows:

2004	Chair: France Bureau: Czech Republic, Lithuania, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United Kingdom
2005	Chair: Czech Republic (ad interim) Bureau:, Austria, Lithuania, The Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland, United Kingdom
2006	Chair: Portugal Bureau: Austria, Lithuania, Poland The Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom
2007	Chair: Portugal Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Italy, Lithuania, Switzerland
2008	Chair: Portugal Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Switzerland
2009	Chair: Portugal Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, Italy, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom
2010	Chair: Switzerland Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Spain, Sweden
2011	Chair: Switzerland Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Sweden
2012	Chair: Switzerland Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
2013	Chair: Switzerland Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
2014	Chair: Switzerland Bureau: Belgium, Georgia, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
2015	Chair: Switzerland Bureau: Georgia, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
2016	Chair: Italy Bureau: Cyprus, France, Georgia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Switzerland
2017	Chair: Italy Bureau: Cyprus, France, Georgia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Switzerland