NORTH-SOUTH CENTRE of the Council of Europe

Lisbon, 1-2 June 2017

PRESS RELEASE

Lisbon Forum 2017 – XXIII Edition

On the next 1st and 2nd of June, experts and representatives of national governments, parliaments, local and regional authorities and civil society will meet at the Ismaili Centre for the 23rd edition of the North-South Centre's Lisbon Forum.

Under the title 'Interconnecting People: Managing migration, avoiding populism, building inclusive societies and reinforcing the North-South dialogue', this year's Forum brings 'people' at the centre of the discussion more than ever, by acknowledging their sovereignty, by enhancing their potential and by stressing their interdependence.



The Lisbon Forum will be opened by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Portugal, Mr Augusto Santos Silva and Ms Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

Speakers and moderators from countries of the North and the South, as well as from international organisations and former laureates of the North-South Prize (see the programme in annex) will adress the four dimensions of the main theme of this year's Forum with the aim at contributing with their experience and expertise to the work of the North- South Centre of the Council of Europe.

Once more funded by the EU and carried out by the Council of Europe under the South **Programme II** - "towards strengthened democratic governance in the southern Mediterranean" - the Lisbon Forum brings together every year since 1994 high-level participants from Europe, neighbouring regions and international organisations with the aim of discussing topics closely related to the core CoE priorities.

The North-South Centre empowers civil society through intercultural dialogue & global citizenship education since its establishment in 1989. Through its multilateral activities and bottom-up approach, the North-South Centre responds mainly to four priority areas: global education, youth and women empowerment and migration.

20 Member States: Andorra; Azerbaijan; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Bulgaria; Cape Verde; Croatia; Cyprus; Greece; Holy See; Liechtenstein; Luxembourg; Malta; Montenegro; Morocco; Portugal; Romania; San Marino; Serbia; Spain; Tunisia.

