

INFORMATION SOCIETY AND ACTION AGAINST CRIME DIRECTORATE INFORMATION SOCIETY DEPARTMENT

CONVOCATION

4th meeting MSI-NET

Réf ► SGr/UU/EM [PO 548664]

Strasbourg, 25 July 2017

4th meeting of the Committee of experts on on Internet Intermediaries

Opening : Closing : Place : Subjects to be covered : Monday 18 September 2017 (9.30 am) Tuesday 19 September 2017 (5.30 pm) Strasbourg, AGORA Building, **Room G05** See draft agenda

I. Members

a. The Committee shall be composed of 13 experts, comprising seven government or member States' representatives, designated by the CDMSI, and six independent experts, appointed by the Secretary General with recognised expertise in the fields of freedom of expression and media policy. The composition of the Expert Committee will reflect an equitable geographic distribution amongst the member States and will take account of the gender equality dimension. The Council of Europe shall bear the travel and subsistence expenses of all 13 members listed below.

Government /Member States' representatives

Ms Karmen Turk (Trinity Tallinn - Estonia) Mr Bertrand de la Chapelle (Internet and Jurisdiction Project – France) Successor of Ms Sabine Maass (Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy – Germany) Mr Pēteris Podvinskis (Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Latvia) Mr Arseny Nedyak (Ministry of Telecommunication – Russian Federation) Ms Tanja Kerševan-Smokvina (Agency for Communication Networks and Services -Slovenia) Mr Thomas Schneider (Federal Office of Communications -OFCOM – Switzerland)

Independent Experts

Ms Julia Hornle (Queen Mary University of London) Mr Matthias Kettemann (University of Frankfurt/Main) Mr Wolfgang Schulz (Faculty of Law, University of Hamburg / Hans-Bredow-Institut) Ms Sophie Stalla-Bourdillon (University of Southampton) Mr Dirk Voorhoof (Ghent University) Mr Ben Wagner (German Institute for International and Security Affairs -SWP)

b. Other member States may designate representatives without defrayal of expenses.

II. Observers

The following may send representatives without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- the European Union (including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA);
- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America;
- the European Audiovisual Observatory;
- the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA);
- the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE);
- UN Agencies (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation UNESCO)
- representatives of civil society, academic communities and the private sector.

III. Participants

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- Non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant cooperation activities.

IV. Working languages

The meeting will be held in English and French.

V. Travel and subsistence expenses

- a. The Council of Europe shall bear the travel and subsistence expenses of all 13 above-listed members of the MSI-NET. See attached the procedure regarding the reimbursement.
- b. Other Member states may send representatives without defrayal of expenses.

VI. Administrative formalities

a. Visa

Experts who need a visa for entry to France are requested to submit their request to the relevant authorities at least 10 days before the date of their departure.

b. Nominations/security measures

On arrival at the Council of Europe, participants will be required to present this convocation as well as an identity document to the Security Staff at the main entrance.

Contacts

Charlotte ALTENHÖNER-DION, Secretary MSI-NET, <u>charlotte.altenhoener-dion@coe.int</u> Elisabeth MAETZ, Assistant, <u>elisabeth.maetz@coe.int</u>

Enclosure(s):

Procedure concerning the reimbursement of travel and subsistence expenses

Procedure concerning the reimbursement of travel and subsistence expenses

- 1. Travel and accommodation expenses of the expert appointed by each government will be reimbursed by the Council of Europe will be carried out according to the enclosed rules.
- 2. The daily maximum allowance for 2017 is €175 (i.e. 50% for hotel accommodation + 20% for miscellaneous expenses such as taxis+ 15% for each main meal when the person appointed is not offered an official meal in the context of the meeting).
- 3. If the meeting is held outside Strasbourg, expenses will be paid by bank transfer after the meeting.
- 4. The experts appointed whose expenses will be borne by the budget of the Council of Europe are requested to arrange their journey by the most economical route and to make use, wherever possible, of any available reduced fares (PEX, excursion, etc.). Travel expenses will only be reimbursed upon presentation of documentary evidence of the sum actually paid (invoice, copy of credit card slip, etc.). If an invoice is provided, this must be the **original** document issued by the travel agency or airline that issued the ticket. If an **electronic ticket** is purchased, a confirmation of the on-line booking giving the total cost of the ticket must be provided, along with **proof of payment** (invoice, credit card slip, monthly or Internet bank statement). The reimbursement of travel expenses would be greatly facilitated if experts appointed could also bring photocopies of these documents with them. If no public transport is used, travel expenses will be reimbursed according to Article 6 of the enclosed rules. In order to ensure reimbursement, all necessary documents should be sent to the Secretariat during or immediately after the meeting.
- 5. The experts appointed whose expenses will be borne by the Council of Europe may buy their own tickets directly. Alternatively, pre-paid travel tickets may be made available if requests are made to the Secretariat no later than ten days before the meeting. However, once a ticket has been issued, it will not be possible to allow for any change in itinerary.
- 6. Specific travel related risks are covered by a **CHARTIS** insurance policy (number **2.004.761**), which provides cover for persons up to their 76th birthday, please note that additional arrangements are necessary in other cases. The following CHARTIS assistance help line can be called in case of need: **+(32) 3 253 69 16**.
- 7. The Secretariat draws attention to the fact that all the Council of Europe buildings are smoking-free areas since 1 February 2007. It counts on the cooperation of persons appointed for strict compliance with this measure, which is intended to protect the health of everyone present on the Organisation's premises.

* * *