# Press Release

## **Council of Europe Press Service**

Ref: 157a01

Contact: Denise Slavik Tel: +33 3 88 41 25 74 Fax:+33 3 88 41 27 89

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



#### 43 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of

Press Service 67075 Strasbourg France

United Kingdom

Macedonia"

Turkev

Ukraine

Tel: +33 3 88 41 25 60 Fax: +33 3 88 41 27 89

## **EURIMAGES** supports 7 European co-productions

STRASBOURG, 06.03.2001 – During its 71st meeting held on 26.02.2001 - 28.02.2001 in Paris, the Board of Management of the Council of Europe's EURIMAGES Fund agreed to support seven feature films for a total amount of 2 482 000 Euros.

Since 1 January 2000, under the new regulations of the reform, EURIMAGES awards assistance under two schemes. All projects presented must conform to the cultural objectives of the Fund. In the first scheme, assistance is awarded mainly on the basis of the project's circulation potential, whereas in the second scheme assistance is awarded primarily on the basis of artistic value.

At its 70<sup>th</sup> meeting (Paris, 11-12 December 2000), the Board of Management had given the members of the Bureau a mandate to analyse the objectives of the Fund; evaluate the impact of the reform (in co-operation with professionals and the Secretariat) and formulate proposals to update and improve the rules and statutory texts of the Fund.

In this spirit, a meeting between European professionals, representatives from the Board of Management and the Secretariat was held in Berlin on 10 February 2001. The principal proposals and criticisms arising from this meeting may be summarised as follows:

- In the selection of projects, it is necessary to take into account qualitative criteria alongside financial criteria;
- The elements to be provided in an application for support should be revised in order to lighten and simplify the application procedure;
- In order to help producers from having to adjust their shooting dates according to EURIMAGES deadlines, application dates should be more flexible;
- It is imperative that a solution to the lengthy procedure in the drawing up of contracts between producers and EURIMAGES is found.
- There must be more transparency in the decisions of the Board of Management and under no circumstances should decisions be based on geopolitical arguments.

Furthermore, a Working Committee comprising of seven of the professionals present at this meeting was established. This Committee will represent the interests of European producers and will discuss the proposals for adjustments of the EURIMAGES' Rules with the Bureau members of the Board of Management and the Secretariat. The objective is to announce the results of these discussions and proposals at the Cannes Film Festival.

./..

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int

#### The feature films supported are :

SCHEME 1

Jester Till - Eberhard Junkersdorf (German) (Germany, Belgium)

**SCHEME 2** 

Anne Frendo - Eric Heumann (French) (France, Italy, Germany)

Fellini: Je suis un grand menteur - Damian Pettyigrew (Canadian) (France, Italy, United Kingdom)

Lundi matin - Otar Iosseliani (French-Georgian) (France, Italy)

Mavahlatur - Agust Gudmundsson (Icelandic) (Iceland, Germany, United Kingdom)

Rêve de métal - Nikos Cornilios (Greek) (France, Greece) Yaz Tatili - Baris Pirhasan (Turkish) (Turkey, Hungary)

### Support was awarded to the following distributors for the films listed hereafter:

ADY FILMS (Bulgaria) Segunda Piel - Gerardo Vera (Spanish)

MARIGOLD FILMS (Bulgaria) Asfalto - Daniel Calparsoro (Spanish)

Nora - Pat Murphy (Irish)

TOP FILMS INTERNATIONAL (Bulgaria) Celos - Vicente Aranda (Spanish)

VADI VAN KRIS LTD (Bulgaria) Dancer in the Dark - Lars Von Trier (Danish)

Geography of Fear - Auli Mantila (Finnish)

FILM DISTRIBUTION ARTCAM

101 Reykjavik - Baltasar Kormakur (Icelandic)

(Czech Republic) Harrison's Flowers - Elie Chouraqui (French)

FILM DU PARADOXE (France) Clouds of May - Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkish)

BEST HOLLYWOOD (Hungary) Marlene - Joseph Vilsmaier (German)

MOKEP (Hungary) Volavérunt (La maja desnuda) - Bigas Luna (Spanish)

SPI INTERNATIONAL POLSKA (Poland) *Marlene* - Joseph Vilsmaier (German)

TANTRA DMPC (Poland)

101 Reykjavik - Baltasar Kormakur (Icelandic)

INDEPENDENTA FILM (Romania)

Dancer in the Dark - Lars Von Trier (Danish)

ASSOCIATION OF SLOVAK FILM CLUBS Train de vie - Radu Mihaileanu (French)

(Slovakia)

WALTER NITTNAUS - WN DANUBIUS FILM Together - Lukas Moodysson (Swedish)

(Slovakia)

AGORA FILMS (Switzerland) Nobel - Fabio Carpi (Italian)

FILMCOOPERATIVE ZÜRICH (Switzerland) ledereen Beroemd! - Dominique Deruddere (Belgian)

FRENETIC FILMS (Switzerland) Summer of 27 Kisses - Nana Djordjadze (Georgian)

LOOK NOW! (Switzerland) Sanger fran andra Vaningen - Roy Andersson (Swedish)

XENIX FILMDISTRIBUTION (Switzerland) La Faute à Voltaire - Abdel Kechiche (French)

BELGE FILM SAN. VE TIC (Turkey) Masterpiece - David Trueba (Spanish)

Merci pour le chocolat - Claude Chabrol (French)

SPOT FILM (Turkey) Eight and a Half Women- Peter Greenaway (British)

EURIMAGES is a support Fund for co-production, distribution and the exhibition of European cinematographic works, established by the Council of Europe in 1988 <sup>1</sup> (E-mail: <u>Eurimages@coe.int</u> - Web: <a href="mailto:http://culture.coe.int/Eurimages">http://culture.coe.int/Eurimages</a>).

Since its establishment, EURIMAGES has supported 788 European co-productions for a total amount of €214 303 559.

<sup>1</sup> EURIMAGES comprises 26 member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey