Constitutional Court:

Reviews the constitutionality of the laws as a chamber in the Supreme Court.

Supreme Court

Reviews appeals against the judgements of appeal courts through cassation.

There is only one Supreme Court, situated in Tartu.

The Supreme Court consists of 4 separate chambers: Civil, Criminal, Administrative and Constitutional Review Chamber.



Court of Appeal

They are sometimes also called circuit courts or district courts.

They review decisions of county and administrative courts through appeal.

There are 2 circuit courts (Tallinn and Tartu).

Circuit Courts are divided into 3 chambers – civil, criminal and administrative chamber.



Court of First Instance

County Courts

There are 4 county courts (Harju, Viru, Pärnu and Tartu).

Each court has more than one courthouse (17 courthouses in total).

County courts have jurisdiction regarding civil (litigious divorce, employment dismissal), criminal (robbery, intentional homicide) and misdemeanour matters.

Administrative courts

There are 2 administrative courts (Tallinn and Tartu).

Each court has 2 courthouses. Adjudicates administrative matters.

<u>Public prosecution service:</u>

Consists of 2 levels:

The Office of the Prosecutor General

The Office of the Prosecutor in General acts as the superior prosecutor's office.

The work area of the Office of the Prosecutor General covers the whole of Estonia.

The Office is divided into departments: Prosecution Department, Supervisory Department, Offences against State and International Cooperation Department and Administrative Department.

The Office of the Prosecutor General:

- leads preliminary investigations and represents public prosecution in the courts of all
 instances in respect of cross-border crimes and other especially serious organised crimes
 or crimes that have received intense public response;
- supervises and advises the operation of District Prosecutor's Offices and analyses and generalises judicial and prosecutor's offices' practices;
- performs obligations arising from international cooperation, including participation in the work of Eurojust.

District Prosecutor's Offices

The work areas of District Prosecutor's Offices coincide with the work areas of police prefectures.

4 District Prosecutor's Offices: Northern, Southern, Viru and the Western. Each office is divided into departments according to the division of labour.

The Prosecutor's Office:

- participates in planning surveillance required for the prevention and detection of crimes;
- leads pre-trial criminal proceedings ensuring its lawfulness and effectiveness;
- represents public prosecution in court and fulfils other duties imposed on the Prosecutor's Office by law.