COUNCIL OF EUROPE



Strasbourg, 2 May 2017

CDCPP(2017)5 Item 4 of the agenda

STEERING COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, HERITAGE AND LANDSCAPE (CDCPP)

ELECTIONS OF A CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR AND TWO MEMBERS OF THE BUREAU

For action

Secretariat Memorandum
prepared by the
Directorate of Democratic Governance
Culture, Nature and Heritage Department

Introduction

I. Rules of procedure and working methods of the CDCPP

As a Council of Europe intergovernmental committee, the rules of procedure and working methods of the CDCPP are governed by <u>Resolution CM/Res(2011)24</u> of the Committee of Ministers. The rules of procedure for intergovernmental committees appear in Appendix 1 to this Resolution.

Article 12 of the Rules of procedure stipulates that: "Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair." The principle role of the Chair is to "conduct proceedings and sum up the conclusions whenever he or she thinks necessary", the Vice-Chair shall replace the Chair should the Chair be absent or otherwise unable to preside the meeting.

In accordance with Article 13 of the rules of procedure, the CDCPP may appoint a Bureau consisting of a Chair, Vice-Chair and a limited number of other members of the committee. The functions of the Bureau are:

- to assist the Chair in conducting the committee's business;
- to supervise the preparation of meetings at the committee's request;
- to ensure continuity between meetings as necessary;
- to execute other additional specific tasks delegated by its Committee.

In order to ensure partial replacement of the Bureau each year, the first term of at least one such member shall be limited to one year.

At the 1241st meeting of the Deputies on 24-26 November 2015, the Committee of Ministers approved the new Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee for Culture, Heritage and Landscape, valid from 1 January 2016 until 31 December 2017.

1. Chair, Vice-Chair and bureau members

At its fifth meeting (13-15 June 2016), the CDCPP elected:

- its Chair, Mr Kimmo Aulake (Finland) for one year;
- its Vice-Chair, Ms Julia Dao (Switzerland) for one year;
- seven Bureau members:

for two years

Mr Andreï Chistol (Republic of Moldova), Ms Giuliana De Francesco (Italy), Ms Hanna Jedras (Poland), Ms Doris Kurtov (Croatia), Ms Helga Ragnheidur Thorarinsdottir (Iceland);

for one year

Ms Sanja Ljeskovic-Mitrovic (Montenegro) and Ms Liv Kirstine Mortensen (Norway).

2. Current situation in view of the elections

- Chair elected in 2016 for one year (first term of office) and who may be reelected (Mr Kimmo Aulake).
- Vice-Chair elected in 2016 for one year (Ms Julia Dao). In November 2016, Ms Dao informed the Committee that unfortunately she would no longer be able to carry out her role as Vice-Chair.
- Two members of the Bureau elected in 2016 for one year (Ms Sanja Ljeskovic-Mitrovic and Ms Liv Kirstine Mortensen) and five members elected in 2016 for two years (Mr Andreï Chistol, Ms Giuliana De Francesco, Ms Hanna Jedras, Ms Doris Kurtov, Ms Helga Ragnheidur Thorarinsdottir).

3. Elections

The Committee is invited to elect or re-elect a chair, elect a vice chair, and two members of the Bureau.

Members elected for two years will cease to be members of the Bureau at the expiry of the CDCPP's terms of reference (31 December 2017). However, as per recent practice approved by the Committee of Ministers, these members will remain in office until the first meeting of the CDCPP in 2018. The same rule will be applied, mutatis mutandis, to the chair and vice chair as well as to the two bureau members to be elected in 2017.

Action required

The Committee is invited to:

- elect or re-elect the Chair for one year;
- elect the Vice-Chair for one year;
- elect two members of the Bureau for one year "in accordance with an equitable distribution of posts, taking into account in particular geographical distribution, gender balance and, where relevant, legal systems".

The election of the Chair and Vice-Chair "shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot" (article 12.d of the Rules of Procedure). "Other members of the Bureau shall be appointed in the same manner as the Chair and Vice-Chair" (article 13.c).