

Strasbourg, 17 October 2011 cdpc/docs 2011/cdpc (2011) 21 - e

CDPC (2011) 21

EUROPEAN COMMITTEE ON CRIME PROBLEMS (CDPC)

MEMORANDUM CONCERNING THE ELECTIONS FOR THE CDPC

Document prepared by the Directorate General of Human Rights and Legal Affairs (DGHL)

- I. The regulations governing elections and terms of office
- II. The CDPC Bureau, Chair and Vice Chair

CDPC website: www.coe.int/cdpc CDPC e-mail: dgi.cdpc@coe.int

I. THE REGULATIONS GOVERNING ELECTIONS AND TERMS OF OFFICE

RESOLUTION (2005) 47 ON COMMITTEES AND SUBORDINATE BODIES, THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE AND WORKING METHODS

Appendix 1 (Rules of Procedure for Council of Europe committees) to Resolution (2005) 47 provides:

"Article 12 - Chair

a. Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair. However, the Chair of a subordinate body may be appointed by the steering or ad hoc committee to which it is answerable.

...

- d. Election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot. In steering committees, the election shall be held by secret ballot, in other committees by a show of hands, unless a member of the committee requests a secret ballot.
- e. The term of office of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall be one year. It may be renewed once.

Article 13 - Bureau

- a. Every steering and ad hoc committee may appoint a bureau consisting of the Chair, the Vice-Chair and a limited number of other members of the committee. The number of other members shall be specified in the committee's terms of reference. Any other committee may, if need be, appoint a bureau composed, normally, of not more than three members in addition to the Chair and Vice-Chair. The functions of the Bureau are:
- to assist the Chairman in conducting the committee's business;
- to supervise the preparation of meetings at the committee's request;
- to ensure continuity between meetings as necessary; and
- to execute other additional specific tasks delegated by its Committee.
- b. Other members of the Bureau shall be appointed in the same manner as the Chair and Vice-Chair. They shall be appointed immediately after the Chair and Vice-Chair in accordance with an equitable distribution of posts, taking into account in particular, geographical distribution, gender balance and, where relevant, legal systems.
- c. The term of office of such members shall be two years and may be renewed once. However, a member may, on expiry of her/his second term, be appointed Chair or Vice-Chair. In order to ensure partial replacement of the Bureau each year, the first term of at least one such member shall be limited to one year.
- d. A member elected to replace another whose term of office has not expired shall complete her/his predecessor's term. The same shall apply to the offices of Chair and Vice-Chair.

• • •

Article 17 - Revision

Any committee answerable directly to the Committee of Ministers may propose to that Committee either that these Rules be amended or that certain provisions be added or others waived as far as it or a committee dependent on it is concerned."

- 1. Following the decisions of the Committee of Ministers, prior to the adoption of the new Resolution, which substantively in this respect is the same as Resolution (76) 3 which it replaces:
 - the term of office of the Chair of the CDPC is two years (350th meeting of the Ministers' Deputies, September 1982);
 - the term of office of CDPC Bureau members is four years (428th meeting of the Ministers' Deputies, September 1989);
 - the CDPC Bureau is composed of nine members (924th meeting of the Ministers' Deputies, April 2005);

II. THE CDPC BUREAU, CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

- Thus, in accordance with the above decisions, the Chair is elected for a period of two years, not renewable, the Vice Chair for a period of one year, renewable, and the members of the Bureau for a period of four years, not renewable. A Bureau member may be elected to the post of Chair or Vice Chair, in which case the provisions regarding the term of office and possible renewal of these offices would apply, as from the time of the appointment as Chair or Vice Chair.
- 3. The procedure for the election of the Chair and the Vice Chair of the CDPC is the same as for the members of the Bureau. Such elections are held by secret ballot and require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot.
- 4. The current situation is as follows:

Mr Hans-Holger HERRNFELD (Germany)	elected Chair	2009-2011
Mr Roland MIKLAU (Austria)	elected Vice-Chair	2009-2011
Mr Florian Razvan RADU (Romania)	elected	2007-2011
Ms Maria GAVOUNELI (Greece)	elected	2007-2011
Mr Tihomir KRALJ (Croatia)	elected	2009-2013
Ms Helena LISUCHOVA (Czech Republic)	elected	2009-2013
Mr Ilya ROGACHEV (Russian Federation)	elected	2009-2013
Mr Lorenzo SALAZAR (Italy)	elected	2009-2013
Mr Jesper HJORTENBERG (Denmark)	elected	2010-2014

- 5. The terms of office of the Chair, the Vice-Chair and two members of the Bureau will expire at the end of the next plenary session of the CDPC.
- 6. The CDPC should therefore proceed to the election of a Chair and a Vice-Chair and a least two members of the Bureau using a secret ballot, the terms of office to begin as from the end of the plenary session.
- 7. Should the Chair and/or Vice-Chair be elected from among the current members of the Bureau, additional Bureau members will then need to be elected, again by secret ballot.