

CDPC (2015) 18

Strasbourg, 29 September 2015 cdpc/docs 2015/cdpc (2015) 18 - e

EUROPEAN COMMITTEE ON CRIME PROBLEMS (CDPC)

MEMORANDUM CONCERNING THE ELECTIONS FOR THE CDPC

Document prepared by the CDPC Secretariat Directorate General I – Human Rights and Rule of Law

I. The regulations governing elections and terms of office II. The CDPC Bureau, Chair and Vice Chair

> CDPC website: www.coe.int/cdpc CDPC e-mail: dgi.cdpc@coe.int

I. THE REGULATIONS GOVERNING ELECTIONS AND TERMS OF OFFICE

RESOLUTION (CM/RES(2011)24) ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEES AND SUBORDINATE BODIES, THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE AND WORKING METHODS

Appendix 1 (Rules of Procedure for Council of Europe committees) to Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 provides:

Article 12 – Chair

a. Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair. However, the Chair of a subordinate body may be appointed by the steering or ad hoc committee to which it is answerable.

•••

d. Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot. In steering committees, the election shall be held by secret ballot, in other committees by a show of hands, unless a member of the committee requests a secret ballot.

e. The term of office of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall be one year. It may be renewed once.

Article 13 – Bureau

a. Every steering and ad hoc committee may appoint a bureau consisting of the Chair, the Vice-Chair and a limited number of other members of the committee. The number of other members shall be specified in the committee's terms of reference. Any other committee may, if need be, appoint a bureau composed, normally, of not more than three members in addition to the Chair and Vice-Chair. The functions of the Bureau are:

- to assist the Chair in conducting the committee's business;

- to supervise the preparation of meetings at the committee's request;
- to ensure continuity between meetings as necessary;
- to execute other additional specific tasks delegated by its Committee.
- •••

d. The term of office of such members shall correspond to the duration of the mandate of the committee and may be renewed once. However, a member may, on expiry of her/his second term, be appointed Chair or Vice-Chair. In order to ensure partial replacement of the Bureau each year, the first term of at least one such member shall be limited to one year.

e. A member elected to replace another whose term of office has not expired shall complete her/his predecessor's term. The same shall apply to the offices of Chair and Vice-Chair.

•••

II. THE CDPC BUREAU, CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

- 1. Thus, in accordance with Resolution (2011)24, the Chair and the Vice Chair of the CDPC are elected for a maximum of two years (one year renewable once) and the members of the Bureau for a maximum of four years (two years renewable once). A Bureau member may be elected to the post of Chair or Vice Chair, in which case the provisions regarding the term of office and possible renewal of these offices would apply, as from the time of the appointment as Chair or Vice Chair.
- 2. The procedure for the election of the Chair and the Vice Chair of the CDPC is the same as for the members of the Bureau. Such elections require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot.
- 3. The current situation is as follows:

Mr Jesper HJORTENBERG (Denmark)	elected Chair	2013-2015
Ms Helena LISUCHOVA (Czech Republic)	elected Vice-Chair	2013-2015
Mr Sławomir BUCZMA (Poland)	elected	2011-2015
Mr Hans-Holger HERRNFELD (Germany)	elected	2011-2015
Ms Fabienne SCHALLER (France)	elected	2011-2015
Ms Linda Katharina DRAZDIAK (Norway)	elected	2013-2015
Ms Mariana RADU (Romania)	elected	2013-2015
Mr Lorenzo SALAZAR (Italy)	elected	2013-2015
	elected elected	2013-2015 2014-2016

- 4. The terms of office of the Chair (Mr Hjortenberg), the Vice-Chair (Ms Lisuchova) and three members of the Bureau (Mr Buczma, Mr Herrnfeld and Ms Schaller) will expire at the end of the next plenary session of the CDPC. The terms of office of three members of the Bureau (Ms Drazdiak, Ms Radu and Mr Salazar) can be renewed for two years (2016-2017).
- 5. The CDPC should therefore proceed to the election of a Chair and a Vice-Chair and three members of the Bureau, the term of office to begin as from the beginning of 2016. It should also proceed to the renewal of the terms of office of three members of the Bureau.
- 6. Should the Chair and/or Vice-Chair be elected from among the current members of the Bureau, additional Bureau members will then need to be elected.