ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE FRAMEWORK CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF NATIONAL MINORITIES



Strasbourg, 6 March 2017

ACFC/MR(2016)003

57th meeting
Strasbourg, 10 - 12 - 13 - 14 October 2016

Council of Europe – Agora building Room G04

MEETING REPORT

Item 1: Opening of the meeting

1. The Advisory Committee on the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities held its 57th meeting on 10, 12, 13 and 14 October 2016 in Strasbourg. Ms Petra Roter, acting President of the Advisory Committee, opened the meeting and warmly welcomed the members of the Committee.

Item 2: Adoption of the agenda

2. The agenda was adopted.

Item 3: Approval of the report of the 56th meeting of the Advisory Committee

3. Having examined the report of its 56th meeting, the Advisory Committee adopted the final text of the report as reproduced in document ACFC/MR(2016)002.

Item 4: Examination of draft Opinions and their adoption

- 4. The Committee examined the draft 4th cycle Opinion on <u>Austria</u>. During the plenary session on 13 October 2016, it decided, in the light of the final version of the draft Opinion on Austria, to vote on the text.
- 5. The voting was organised in accordance with Rule 34 of the Committee's Rules of Procedure, stipulating that Opinions should be adopted by a majority of ordinary Committee members".
- 6. The 4th cycle Opinion on Austria was adopted unanimously.
- 7. The Committee examined the draft 4th cycle Opinion on <u>Malta</u>. During the plenary session on 14 October 2016, it decided, in the light of the final version of the draft Opinion on Malta, to vote on the text.
- 8. The voting was organised in accordance with Rule 34 of the Committee's Rules of Procedure, stipulating that Opinions should be adopted by a majority of ordinary Committee members.
- 9. The 4th cycle Opinion on the Malta was adopted unanimously.
- 10. The Committee examined the draft 4th cycle Opinion on **Norway**. During the plenary session on 13 October 2016, it decided, in the light of the final version of the draft Opinion on the Norway, to vote on the text.
- 11. The voting was organised in accordance with Rule 34 of the Committee's Rules of Procedure, stipulating that Opinions should be adopted by a majority of ordinary Committee members.
- 12. The 4th cycle Opinion on Norway was adopted unanimously.

Item 5: Introductory session for new members

13. In the course of the introductory session, several issues related to the nature of the Framework Convention, the role of the Advisory Committee, Advisory Committee visits (including their preparation and the development of the programme, as well as recommendations as to the use of multimedia and the dealing with various groups, such as the authorities, NGOs and interpreters) and the process of drafting of the Opinions (the different phases and time lines) were highlighted.

Item 6: Election of the Advisory Committee's Bureau

- 14. The Bureau of the Advisory Committee was elected, in accordance with Rules 4 and 5 of the Rules of Procedure of the Advisory Committee. The elections of the President and Vice-Presidents were held separately and by secret ballot:
 - Ms Petra Roter was unanimously elected President of the Advisory Committee;
 - Ms Brigitta Busch was unanimously elected 1st Vice-President of the Advisory Committee;
 - Mr Craig Oliphant was unanimously elected 2nd Vice-President of the Advisory Committee.

Item 7: Recent and future developments

- 15. The Advisory Committee was informed of recent developments linked to the Framework Convention since the previous meeting concerning the status of receipt of State Reports, country visits, submission of government comments, opinions published, resolutions adopted as well as events in which the ACFC and/or secretariat members have participated. The Advisory Committee was also informed about the departure of Ms Charlotte Altenhöner-Dion from the FCNM secretariat. Ms Charlotte Altenhöner-Dion was thanked for her contribution to the work of the ACFC over the years.
- 16. The Advisory Committee decided on the visiting days in respect of Kosovo* and was informed about the state of affairs as concerns the visit to Ukraine.
- 17. As to the invitation to organise a conference in Cyprus in June 2017, the Advisory Committee agreed that in order for the FCNM budget to be used, the conference theme should be directly linked to the protection of national minorities.

Item 8: Election of the Gender Equality Rapporteur

18. Ms Tove H. Malloy is elected as Gender Equality Rapporteur.

^{*} All reference to Kosovo, whether to the territory, institutions or population, in this text shall be understood in full compliance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 and without prejudice to the status of Kosovo.

Item 9: Dates of next meetings

19. The dates for the following meetings were confirmed as follows:

58th plenary session: 6-10 March 2017 59th plenary session: 19-23 June 2017 60th plenary session: 6-10 November 2017

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Advisory Committee for the Protection of National Minorities

Mr Reinis ĀBOLTIŅŠ (Latvia)

Mr Neven ANĐELIĆ (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Mr Besarion BOKHASHVILI (Georgia)

Ms Brigitta BUSCH (Austria)

Mr Yiannis CHRYSOSTOMIS (Cyprus)

Ms Laura-Maria CRĂCIUNEAN (Romania)

Mr Tomáš HRUSTIČ (Slovak Republic)

Mr Sławomir ŁODZIŃSKI (Poland)

Ms Tove H. MALLOY (Denmark)

Mr Craig OLIPHANT (United Kingdom)

Mr Detlev REIN (Germany)

Ms Petra ROTER (Slovenia) – President ad interim

Ms Marieke SANDERS (The Netherlands)

Ms Elisabeth SÁNDOR-SZALAY (Hungary)

Ms Carmen SANTIAGO REYES (Spain)

Ms Barbara WILSON (Switzerland)

Mr Oleksandr ZADOROZHNII (Ukraine)

Ms Edita ŽIOBIENĖ (Lithuania)

Advisory Committee's additional member

Mr Einar NIEMI (Norway) apologised

COUNCIL OF EUROPE

Ms Marja RUOTANEN, Director of Human Dignity and Equality - DGII

Secretariat of the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities

Mr Marco LEIDEKKER, Head of Secretariat

Mr Krzysztof ZYMAN, Administrator

Ms Gisella GORI, Administrator

Ms Nicola MARKES, Documentalist

Ms Danijela GERDIJAN, Assistant

Mr Anthony ISKENDERIAN, Assistant

Interpreters

Mr Nicolas GUITTONNEAU

Mr Christopher TYCZKA (13-14/10)

Ms Clarissa WORSDALE (11-12/10)

Ms Martine CARALY (10/10)

Mr Didier JUNGLING (10-11 & 13-14/10)