

# THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE

OFFICE IN BELGRADE

PROMOTING EUROPEAN VALUES IN SERBIA







**Tim Cartwright**Head of Office

"I am delighted you have this brochure in your hands. Welcome to the Council of Europe in Serbia."

## THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE OFFICE IN BELGRADE

The Council of Europe Office in Belgrade was opened by the Secretary General on 16 March 2001, as a contact point for cooperation with the then Federal Republic of Yugoslavia which had applied to join the Council of Europe and with work already underway on joint projects. It has remained in place ever since.

Serbia became the 45th member of the Council of Europe in April 2003, a development that was the natural consequence of the major political changes which took place in autumn 2000 and which allowed Serbia to claim its rightful place among the democratic states of Europe.

- The main task of the Council of Europe in Belgrade remains to assist the country in its process of democratic reforms and its European integration. Over the last fifteen years, the Office, in close cooperation with the Serbian authorities, has supported reforms in Human Rights; the National Assembly; Media; Local Self-Government; Higher Education; the Justice Sector; Police and Prison Administrations; and anti-money laundering activities. We continue to do so.
- Today, the Office, acting in close co-operation with the Government and with other relevant authorities of the Republic of Serbia and civil society, provides targeted Council of Europe advice and assistance more effectively to support the process of reform, particularly in the promotion of democracy, good governance, the promotion and protection of human rights and the rule of law, with a view to the fulfilment of Council of Europe membership standards.



### OUR CURRENT PROJECTS

- The Council of Europe is currently implementing country-specific and regional projects in Serbia for a total value of € 8 million, including within the Horizontal Facility, a co-operation initiative of the European Union and Council of Europe for South East Europe, implemented by the Council of Europe over a period of 36 months from May 2016.
- Country-specific projects include:
- Human Resources Management in Local Self-Government (March 2016 December 2017), a specific joint programme of the European Union and the Council of Europe
- Enhancing Human Rights Protection for Detained and Sentenced Persons in Serbia (January 2017 August 2018)
- Supporting effective remedies and mutual legal assistance SEMA (January 2017 October 2018)
- Corruption in Education (April 2017 March 2019)
- Democratic School Culture (April 2017 March 2019)
- National Minorities (January 2017 June 2018)

- High Judicial Council and Individual Judicial Independence (January 2017 May 2018)
- Trafficking in Human Beings (January 2017 June 2018)
- The regional projects include:
- Reinforcing Judicial Expertise on Freedom of Expression and the Media in SEE JUFREX, a specific joint programme of the European Union and the Council of Europe (April 2016 – April 2019)
- Human Rights Education for Legal Professionals in the Western Balkans- HELP, funded by the Human Rights Trust Fund (April 2016 September 2017)
- Promoting Human Rights and Equality for LGBT people and Combatting discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity, funded by voluntary contributions of the member states: Switzerland, Estonia, Finland, Luxembourg (January 2015 December 2017)
- Targeting crime proceeds on the internet in South Eastern Europe and Turkey Iproceeds, a specific joint programme of the European Union and the Council of Europe (December 2015 December 2019) ■■■



#### **MEMBER STATES**

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

#### **OBSERVER COUNTRIES**

Canada, the Holy See, Japan, Mexico, the United States of America.

#### THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE

The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It has 47 member states, including all members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

#### **HEADOUARTERS AND OFFICES**

The Council of Europe has its headquarters in Strasbourg, France. It employs some 2 200 people, on an annual basis, and maintains external offices to liaise with other international organisations. The European Youth Centres in Strasbourg and Budapest offer training for young leaders in democracy and human rights issues.

#### **OUR SYMBOLS**

The European flag was chosen by the Council of Europe in 1955. It displays a circle of 12 gold stars on a blue background. The number of stars is invariable, twelve being a number symbolic of perfection. The same flag was adopted by the European Community (now European Union) in 1986. The European anthem, adopted by the Council in 1972 and later by the EU, is a musical arrangement by Herbert von Karajan of the prelude to the Ode to Joy from Beethoven's Ninth Symphony.



### **CONTACTS**

Council of Europe Office in Belgrade Spanskih boraca 3, 11070 Belgrade Serbia

www.coe.int/belgrade



www.facebook.com/CoEBelgrade

