

Strasbourg, 26 May 2014

T-PD (2014)02_en

CONSULTATIVE COMMITTE OF THE CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS WITH REGARD TO AUTOMATIC PROCESSING OF PERSONAL DATA (T-PD)

Memorandum by the Secretariat concerning elections

I- RULES OF PROCEDURES OF THE CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE OF THE CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS WITH REGARD TO AUTOMATIC PROCESSING OF PERSONAL DATA (T-PD)

The rules of procedures stipulate:

"Article 10: Chair and Vice-Chairs

- 1. The Chair, the first Vice-Chair and the second Vice-Chair shall be elected by a majority of the members present from among the representatives for a period of two years. The elections shall not, by default, be held by secret ballot unless specifically requested.
- 2. The Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for re-election for a second consecutive term of office. However, the term shall end if they cease to be a member of the Committee.

Article 10 bis: Membership, functions and competences of the Bureau

- 1. The Bureau shall be composed of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs of the Committee, together with four elected members and the outgoing Chair who may remain a member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate(s) of the new Chair. The other members shall be elected from among the representatives on the Committee for a period of two years. The members shall be eligible for re-election.
- 2. If a member of the Bureau ceases to be a member of the Committee or resigns his/her office before its normal expiry, the Committee may elect a successor for the remainder of the term of that office.

II- PRESENT SITUATION

The Bureau of the Committee comprises eight members and its current membership is as follows:

- Mr Jean-Philippe Walter (Switzerland, elected Chair in June 2012 for a second term of two vears)
- Ms Hana Štěpánková (Czech Republic, elected 1st Vice-Chair in June 2012 for a second term of two years)
- Ms Catherine Pozzo di Borgo (France, elected 2nd Vice-Chair in June 2012 for a second term of two years)
- Mr Gérard Lommel (Luxembourg, elected in June 2012 for two years)
- Ms Alessandra Pierucci (Italy, elected in June 2012 for two years)
- Mr Agustin Puente Escobar (Spain, elected in June 2012 for two years)
- Ms Nevena Ružić (Serbia, elected in June 2012 for two years)
- M. João Pedro Cabral (Portugal, President 2008/2010), member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate of the chair of Mr Jean-Philippe Walter.

III- ELECTIONS FOR THE T-PD

During its 31st Plenary meeting, from 2 to 4 June 2014, the T-PD is invited to hold elections or re-elections for the following posts:

- 1. Chair of the T-PD for two years
- 2. 1st Vice-Chair of the T-PD for two years
- 3. 2nd Vice-Chair of the T-PD for two years
- 4. 4 T-PD Bureau members for two years

IV- PROPOSAL FOR AMENDING THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE T-PD

In light of the need to ensure continuity in the Presidency of the Consultative Committee during the modernisation of the Convention, the possibility to amend the rules of procedure in order to allow the office of Chair be exercised in a third consecutive term could be examined.

It could thus be considered to amend article 10 of the Rules as follows:

"Article 10: Chair and Vice-Chairs

- 3. The Chair, the first Vice-Chair and the second Vice-Chair shall be elected by a majority of the members present from among the representatives for a period of two years. The elections shall not, by default, be held by secret ballot unless specifically requested.
- 4. The Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for re-election for a maximum of a total of three consecutive terms of office. However, the term shall end if they cease to be a member of the Committee



<u>APPENDIX</u>

The Delegations represented on the Bureau of the T-PD as from 2004 are as follows:

	Chair: France
2004	Bureau: Czech Republic, Lithuania, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United Kingdom
	Chair: Czech Republic (ad interim)
2005	Bureau:, Austria, Lithuania, The Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland, United Kingdom
	Chair: Portugal
2006	Bureau: Austria, Lithuania, Poland The Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom
	Chair: Portugal
2007	Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Italy, Lithania, Switzerland
	Chair: Portugal
2008	Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Switzerland
	Chair: Portugal
2009	Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, Italy, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom
	Chair: Switzerland
2010	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Spain, Sweden,
	Chair: Switzerland
2011	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Sweden
	Chair: Switzerland
2012	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
	Chair: Switzerland
2013	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain