

Ref. CG001 (2018)

Monitoring visit by the Congress to Lithuania

Strasbourg, 24 January 2018 – A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe carries out a monitoring visit to Lithuania from 23 to 24 January 2018. Rapporteurs on local and regional democracy, Mr Artur TORRES PEREIRA (Portugal, EPP/CCE) and Mr Sigurdur Bjorn BLONDAL (Iceland, ILDG), examine the situation of local democracy in the light of the provisions of the European Charter of Local Self-Government, ratified by the country in 1999.

The delegation organised high-level meetings, in particular, with Mr Eimutis MISIŪNAS, Minister of the Interior, and Mr Vilius ŠAPOKA, Minister of Finance.

The delegation also met with Mr Povilas URBŠYS, Chair of the Committee on State Administration and Local Authorities of the Seimas, Mr **Arūnas** DULKYS, Auditor General for the State Audit Office and Mr Dainius ŽALIMAS, President of the Constitutional Court.

The rapporteurs held discussions with Mr Visvaldas MATIJOŠAITIS, Mayor of Kaunas, Mr Valerijus MAKŪNAS, Mayor of Kaunas District Municipality, Mr Kęstutis VAITUKAITIS, Mayor of Elektrėnai municipality and Vilnius City councillors.

They also exchanged views with the National Delegation of Lithuania to the Congress and the leaders of the Association of Local Authorities in Lithuania and the Lithuanian Rural Communities Union.

Lithuania ratified the European Charter of Local Self Government in 1999. The countries which have ratified the Charter are bound by its provisions. The Charter requires compliance with a minimum number of rights, which form the European bedrock of local self-government. The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities makes sure that these principles are observed.

- <u>Programme</u>
- Photo Gallery Flickr

Contact:

Stéphanie POIREL, Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, Head of the Monitoring Committee, Phone: +33 (0) 6 63 55 07 10, email: stephanie.poirel@coe.int

\* \* \*

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Planning, Coordination and institutional Communication Unit Tel: +33 (0)3 90 21 48 95 Fax: +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 congress.web@coe.int www.coe.int/congress The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 324 full and 324 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gunn Marit Helgesen (Norway, EPP-CCE)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CCE), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)