

Swiss Agency for Developmen and Cooperation SDC





Ministr Admin Develo Repub

Ministry of Territorial Administration and Development of the Republic of Armenia

Forum on local democracy in Armenia "Outlook for the future: a new agenda for decentralisation "

10 November 2017 Armenia Marriott Hotel, Tigran Mets Hall, Yerevan, Armenia

- 9:30 Registration of Participants
- 10:00 Opening Chaired by Mr.Davit Lokyan, Minister of Territorial Administration and Development of Armenia
 - Welcoming remarks
 - Mr. Karen Karapetyan, Prime-Minister of Armenia
 - Ms. Gudrun Mosler-Törnström, President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe
 - Mr. Lukas Gasser, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Swiss Confederation in Armenia
 - Ms. Natalia Voutova, Head of the Council of Europe Office in Yerevan
- 10:30 Coffee Break
- 10:45 Introductory Session: State of play Territorial administrative reforms and decentralisation in Armenia
 - Overview of territoial administratrive reforms in Armenia and next steps
 Mr. Vache Terteryan, First Deputy Minister of Territorial Administration and Development
 - Overview of the need for decentralisation for the development of local democracy in Armenia Mr. Emin Veritevan, President of the Communities Association of Armenia

Mr. Emin Yeritsyan, President of the Communities Association of Armenia, Head of the Armenian Delegation to the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe (Congress)

11:15 Thematic Discussion I¹: Decentralisation of competencies/transfer of powers to local level

Moderator

• Mr. Udo Seiwert-Faudi, Senior Europe and Scotland Correspondent, Member of Board of Directors, European Journalists Association

¹ in "Davos format" - each speaker makes a 5 minute introduction followed by discussions in the panel and with the audience. No power point presentations or formal speeches will be used, to foster an open debate and lively interaction.

Speakers

- Mr. Ashot Hayrapetyan, Mayor of Kapan
- Mr. Karen Grigoryan, Mayor of Ejmiatsin
- Mr. Vahagn Petrosyan, Expert on local self-government
- Mr. Sergii Mazur, Mayor of Balta, Member of the Ukrainian Delegation to the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
- Mr. Andrew Dawson, Councilor, Cheshire West and Chester Council, Member of the Delegation of the United Kingdom to the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
- Mr. Jens Woelk, Associate professor of comparative constitutional law, School of International Studies, University of Trento, Member of Group of Independent Experts of the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Q&A session; Discussion

- 13:00 Lunch
- 14:00 Thematic Discussion II: financial decentralisation

Moderator

• Mr. Armenak Darbinyan, Board Member of the Central Bank of Armenia

Speakers

- Mr. Robert Petrosyan, Mayor of Jrvezh
- Mr. Vahe Nikoyan, Deputy Mayor of Yerevan
- Ms. Mane Tandilyan, Member of the National Assembly of Armenia
- Mr. Vahan Movsisyan, President of the Communities Finance Officers Association (CFOA)
- Mr. Sasa Paunovic, Mayor of Paracin, Member of the Serbian Delegation to the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
- Mr. Bernd Semmelroggen, Expert and former Member of Group of Independent Experts of the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Q&A session; Discussion

- 15:45 Closing of the Forum Chaired by Mr. Emin Yeritsyan, President of the Communities Association of Armenia
- 16:00 Signing of Cooperation Agreements by Communities Association of Armenia

"Best Community" Award ceremony and state awards

Reception on the occasion of the Local Self-Government Day in Armenia and the 20th Anniversary of the Communities' Association of Armenia