

Strasbourg, 20 September 2016 PC-CP/docs 2016/PC-CP(2016)9e

PC-CP (2016) 9

EUROPEAN COMMITTEE ON CRIME PROBLEMS (CDPC)

COUNCIL FOR PENOLOGICAL CO-OPERATION (PC-CP)

MEMORANDUM CONCERNING THE ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE PC-CP WORKING GROUP

Document prepared by the PC-CP Secretariat Directorate General I - Human Rights and Rule of Law

- I. The current composition of the PC-CP Working Group
- II. The professional position of the current members of the PC-CP Working Group

I. THE CURRENT COMPOSITION OF THE PC-CP WORKING GROUP

- Since 2011 the PC-CP has changed its format and currently its members (9 in number) are elected as members of the PC-CP Working Group composed of independent experts while as the PC-CP itself meets in a plenary format once a year (where are represented all 47 member states together with the 9 members of its Working Group). In conformity with Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 the 9 members may be elected for two years, renewable once. An exception to this rule is authorised in case a member is elected as Chair or Vice-Chair.
- 2. The current members of the PC-CP Working Group are as follows:

Ms Nathalie Boissou (France)	elected	Dec.2015
Ms Annie Devos (Belgium)	elected	Dec.2015
Mr Vivian Geiran (Ireland) (Chair since January 2016)	elected	Dec.2013
Mr Jörg Jesse (Germany) (Vice-Chair since Jan.2016)	elected	Dec.2011
Mr Antanas Jatkevičius (Lithuania)	elected	Dec.2012
Mr Attila Juhász (Hungary)	elected	Dec.2013
Mr Dominik Lehner (Switzerland)	elected	Dec.2013
Mr Nikolaos Koulouris (Greece)	elected	Dec.2015
Ms Nadya Radkovks (Bulgaria)	elected	Dec.2015

- 3. The terms of office of **one** of the members of the PC-CP Working Group **(in bold)** will expire in December 2016 during the plenary session of the CDPC.
- 4. The attention of the CDPC national delegations is drawn to the necessity to elect members whose professional expertise and linguistic abilities allow them to participate fully in the work of the PC-CP. A balanced gender and geographical distribution should also be achieved as a result of the elections.

II. PROFESSIONAL POSITION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE PC-CP WORKING GROUP

Nathalie BOISSOU

Director responsible for the international relations of the French prison administration, Ministry of Justice, France

Annie DEVOS

Director of the House of Justice (probation service), Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles, Belgium

Vivian GEIRAN

Director of the Probation Service, Ireland

Antanas JATKEVIČIUS

Former Head of Criminal and Administrative Law Unit, Legal Department, Office of the Parliament, Assistant Professor, Lithuanian Institute of Law, Lithuania

Jörg JESSE

Director General, Prison and Probation Administration, Acts of Clemency, Ministry of Justice, Mecklenburg Western Pomerania, Germany

Attila JUHÁSZ

Prison Governor, Heves County Remand Prison, Hungary

Dominik LEHNER

Head of Penal Services, Justice and Security Department, Basel-City, Switzerland

Nikolaos KOULOURIS

Assistant Professor in Social Policy and Offenders' Custodial and Non-Custodial Treatment, Department of Social Administration and Political Science, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece

Nadya RADKOVSKA

Head of the Department for International Relations and Training of Staff, General Directorate Execution of Sentences, Ministry of Justice, Bulgaria

Current geographical distribution: Bulgaria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Lithuania, Switzerland

Gender distribution: 6 men and 3 women

Professional expertise: 4 prison experts; 3 probation experts; 2 lawyers from research institutes