

POSLANECKÁ SNĚMOVNA PARLAMENTU ČESKÉ REPUBLIKY



COUNCIL OF EUROPE





# **Council of Europe**

and

European Broadcasting Union International Conference

## PUBLIC SERVICE MEDIA AND DEMOCRACY

# Hosted by the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic

Prague 10 & 11 November 2016

DRAFT PROGRAMME

## Thursday 10 November 2016

#### 09:00-09:30 Welcome addresses

Mr J. Hamáček, President of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament Mr Jean Paul Philippot, EBU

#### **Keynote addresses**

Mr M. Schulz, President of the European Parliament Mr T. Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe – (on video or in person – TBC)

#### 09:30-10:00 Coffee

### Panel 1

# 10:00-12:00 Role and responsibility of parliaments in freedom of expression and freedom of media

Legal framework; European standards; Changes to PSM laws; Public debates; Timing; Importance of PSM for media pluralism

Chair: Mr Jean Paul Philippot, EBU Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU Rapporteur: Mr Gvozden Flego, University of Zagreb

#### Panellists:

Ms Dunja Mijatovic, OSCE Representative of Freedom of the Media Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee on Media & Information Society Mr Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law, Amsterdam, Council of Europe expert

Discussion

#### Panel 2 12:00-14:00 Modern public service media and its impact on society and democracy

Institutional independence of PSM; Limited budgets of PSM; Appointment of governing bodies by the Parliament; Approval of PSM budgets; Approval of PSM reports; Voting with qualified majority; Pressure of private media

Chair: Mr Jean Paul Philippot, EBU Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU Rapporteur: Dr Juan Barata Mir, Council of Europe expert

#### Panellists:

Mr Petr Dvorak, Director General of Czech TV Ms Elfa Ýr Gylfadottir, Chairperson of the Council of Europe Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI) Parliament's representative - to be provided by PACE Dr Klaus Unterberger, ORF

Discussion

#### 14:00-15:30 Lunch

# Panel 3 15:30-17:30 PSM governance: ensuring institutional and editorial independence

Appointment and dismissal procedures of PSM governing bodies; Appointment of directorgenerals; Division of supervisory and managerial powers; Representation of civil society in governing bodies; Independence of NGOs as appointing authorities

> **Chair**: Mr Jean Paul Philippot, EBU **Moderator**: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU **Rapporteur**: Ms Radka Betcheva

#### Panellists:

Mr Jean Francois Furnemont, Council of Europe expert Mr Michael Wagner, EBU Chair/Vice-Chair of EPRA Ms Irina Radu, President of the Public Service Broadcaster of Romania (TVR)

#### 16:00-16:15 Coffee

Discussion

## Friday 11 November 2016

#### Panel 4

# 09:00-11:00 Hate speech - parliaments', regulators' and PSM responsibility; European Court of Human Rights case law

PSM responsibility and editorial standards; Responsibility for broadcasting hate speech; PSM self-regulation and complaints mechanisms; Role of regulators; European standards and ECHR litigation

 Chairperson: Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee on Media & Information Society
Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU
Rapporteur: Mr Jean Francois Furnemont, Council of Europe expert

#### Panellists:

Office of Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe Representative Mr Mogens Blicher Bjerregard, President of the European Federation of Journalists

Ms Mirjana Lazarova-Trajkovska, Judge, European Court of Human Rights Ms Mirjana Rakic, Agency for Electronic Media of the Republic of Croatia Mr Boris Navasardian, President, Yerevan Press Club,

Ms Helena Mandic, Director of Broadcasting of the Communications Regulatory Agency of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Representative of PSM's Complaints Commission, Council or Ombudsperson institution

#### 11:00-11:15 Coffee

#### Discussion

# Panel 5 11:15-13:00 Sustainability of PSM – the way ahead

PSM remit; PSM relevance to society; Vertical and horizontal convergence – challenges for PSM; PSM funding; Understanding the role of PSM for democracy; Professionalism and responsibility of PSM; Role of Parliaments in ensuring appropriate media environment

Chairperson: Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director-General of the EBU Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU Rapporteur: Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU

#### Panellists:

Mr Michael Wagner, EBU Mr Vaclav Mika, Director-General of Slovak public service broadcaster RTVS EPRA Representative

## 13:00-14:00 Lunch

Panel 6

## 14:00-15:00 Conclusions and recommendations

Chair: Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director-General of the EBU and Mr Jan Kleijssen, Director of Information Society and Action against Crime, Council of Europe Panellists: Mr Gvozden Flego, University of Zagreb Dr Juan Barata Mir, Council of Europe expert Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU Mr Jean Francois Furnemont, CoE expert

Panel 7

#### 15:00-15:30 Conclusions

Mr J. Hamáček, President of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament

Languages English, Czech

#### **Contact Persons**

Ms Lejla Dervisagic, Council of Europe: <u>Lejla.DERVISAGIC@coe.int</u> Mr Giacomo Mazzone, EBU: mazzone@ebu.ch Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU: betcheva@ebu.ch