COUNCIL OF EUROPE



Strasbourg, 14 June 2016

T-PD (2016)16\_en

#### CONSULTATIVE COMMITTE OF THE CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS WITH REGARD TO AUTOMATIC PROCESSING OF PERSONAL DATA (T-PD)

## Memorandum by the Secretariat concerning elections

Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law

#### I- RULES OF PROCEDURES OF THE CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (T-PD)

The rules of procedures stipulate:

Article 10: Chair and Vice-Chairs

- 1. The Chair, the first Vice-Chair and the second Vice-Chair shall be elected by a majority of the members present from among the representatives for a period of two years. The elections shall not, by default, be held by secret ballot unless specifically requested.
- 2. The Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for re-election for a second consecutive term of office. In exceptional cases, the Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for a third consecutive term of office\*. However, the term shall end if they cease to be a member of the Committee. <sup>(IX)</sup>

Article 10 bis: Membership, functions and competences of the Bureau

- 1. The Bureau shall be composed of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs of the Committee, together with four elected members and the outgoing Chair who may remain a member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate(s) of the new Chair. The other members shall be elected from among the representatives on the Committee for a period of two years. The members shall be eligible for re-election.
- 2. If a member of the Bureau ceases to be a member of the Committee or resigns his/her office before its normal expiry, the Committee may elect a successor for the remainder of the term of that office.

### II- PRESENT SITUATION

The Bureau of the Committee comprises eight members and its current membership is as follows:

- Mr Jean-Philippe Walter (Switzerland, elected Chair in June 2014 for a third term of two years)
- Ms Alessandra Pierucci (Italy, elected 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chair in June 2014 for a second term of two years)
- Ms Nevena Ružić (Serbia, elected 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chair in June 2014 for a second term of two years)
- Mr Gérard Lommel (Luxembourg, elected in June 2014 for two years)
- Mr Agustin Puente Escobar (Spain, elected in June 2014 for two years)
- Ms Nino Sarishvili (Georgia, elected in June 2014 for two years)
- Mr Peter Kimpian (Hungary, elected in June 2015 for one year)
- M. João Pedro Cabral (Portugal, President 2008/2010), member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate of the chair of Mr Jean-Philippe Walter.

#### III- ELECTIONS FOR THE T-PD IN JULY 2016

During its 33<sup>rd</sup> Plenary meeting, from 29 June to 1 July 2016, the T-PD is invited to hold elections or re-elections for the following posts:

- 1. Chair of the T-PD for two years
- 2. 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chair of the T-PD for two years
- 3. 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chair of the T-PD for two years
- 4. 4 T-PD Bureau members for two years

(the remaining seat of the Bureau will be attributed *de iure* to the outgoing Chair, Mr Jean-Philippe Walter)

### IV- IV. PROCEDURE FOR ELECTIONS

Representatives of member states of the Council of Europe wishing to be candidates or propose another candidate are invited to inform the Secretariat of T-PD as soon as possible and in any event not later than Thursday 30 June 2016 before 15.00. An election by secret ballot will take place on Friday 1 July 2016 at the afternoon session.

# <u>APPENDIX</u>

The Delegations represented on the Bureau of the T-PD as from 2004 are as follows:

	Chair: France
2004	Bureau: Czech Republic, Lithuania, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United Kingdom
	Chair: Czech Republic (ad interim)
2005	Bureau:, Austria, Lithuania, The Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland, United Kingdom
	Chair: Portugal
2006	Bureau: Austria, Lithuania, Poland The Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom
	Chair: Portugal
2007	Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Italy, Lithania, Switzerland
	Chair: Portugal
2008	Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Switzerland
2009	Chair: Portugal
	Bureau: Austria, Czech Republic, Italy, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom
2010	Chair: Switzerland
	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Spain, Sweden,
	Chair: Switzerland
2011	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Sweden
2012	Chair: Switzerland
	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
2013	Chair: Switzerland
	Bureau: Czech Republic, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain
	Chair: Switzerland
2014	Bureau: Belgium, Georgia, Hungary (2015), Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Serbia, Spain