





PPSD (2016) 06 rev 22 February 2016

NATIONAL PARLIAMENTS' ROLE IN IMPROVING FREEDOM, INDEPENDENCE, TRANSPARENCY AND DIVERSITY OF MEDIA

Conference

hosted by the United Kingdom Parliament and organised by the

Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Monday, 11 April 2016

DRAFT PROGRAMME

Venue

Atlee Suite Portcullis House House of Commons London SW1A 2LW

F – 67075 Strasbourg Cedex | <u>assembly@coe.int</u> | Tel: + 33 3 88 41 2000 | Fax: +33 3 88 41 2797

Programmatic Cooperation Framework for Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine and Belarus







Background and rationale

This conference is part of the Council of Europe's action as approved in the framework of the Eastern Partnership. The Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society will meet on the occasion Closely linked to relevant Council of Europe standards, it shall evaluate strategies for ensuring media freedom, independence, transparency and diversity.

1. Participants

National parliamentary delegations from Eastern Partnership states (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine), Members of the UK Parliament and Members of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, in particular of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media and its Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society.

Representatives of media regulators and public service broadcasters

Representatives of media outlets and media freedom NGOs

2. Languages

The documents of the conference will be available in English, French and Russian. Working languages will be English, French and Russian with simultaneous interpretation provided.

3. Venue

The conference will be hosted by the House of Commons at Portcullis House at Westminster, Bridge Street, London SW1A 2LW.

Participants will need an identity document for the entrance as well as advance registration.

4. Background documents

Resolution 2065 (2015) Increasing transparency of media ownership

Resolution 2035 (2015) Protection of the safety of journalists and of media freedom in Europe

Recommendation 1878 (2009) Funding of public service broadcasting

Monday, 11 April 2016

8h45 - 9h15 Registration of participants

Opening session (9h15 - 9h30)

Welcome by Sir Roger Gale MP, Chair of the UK Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of

the Council of Europe (PACE)

Session 1: Transparency of media ownership (9h30 - 11h00)

Moderator: Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Member of the PACE Sub-Committee on Media and

Information Society, Member of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey

Speakers: Representative of the Office of Communications OFCOM, London

Ms Helen Darbishire, Executive Director, Access Info Europe

Discussion

11h00 - 11h15 Coffee break

Session 2: Independence of public service media (11h15 - 13h00)

Moderator: Mr Volodymyr Ariev, Chair of the PACE Committee on Culture, Science, Education

and Media, Member of the Supreme Council of Ukraine

Speakers: Mr Mogens Blicher Bjerregård, President, European Federation of Journalists

Representative of the British Broadcasting Organisation BBC (tbc)

Discussion

13h00 - 14h30 Lunch

Session 3: National strategies for media freedom, transparency and diversity (14h30 - 16h00)

Moderator: Sir Roger Gale MP, Chair of the UK Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of

the Council of Europe (PACE)

Keynote address by a representative of the UK Department for Culture, Media and Sport

Speakers: Chairpersons or representatives of the national parliamentary committees dealing

with media issues from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova

and Ukraine

Discussion

16h00 - 16h15 Coffee break

Session 4: Role of parliaments in ensuring media freedom, transparency and diversity (16h15 - 17h30)

Moderator: Ms Vesna Marjanović, Member of the PACE Sub-Committee on Media and

Information Society, Chair of the Committee on Culture and Media of the National

Assembly of Serbia

Speakers: Members of the UK Parliament and representatives of media organisations

Chairpersons or representatives of the national parliamentary committees dealing with media issues from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova

and Ukraine

Discussion

Conclusions