Committee of experts on Media Pluralism and Transparency of Media Ownership (MSI-MED)¹

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Type of committee: Subordinate body

Terms of reference valid from: 1 January 2016 until 31 December 2017

Main tasks

Under the supervision of the CDMSI, the MSI-MED will analyse best practices in Council of Europe member States with regard to policies and other measures ensuring a pluralist media landscape, transparency of media ownership, diversity of media content, inclusiveness in public service media, gender equality in media coverage of election campaigns. Drawing upon the existing Council of Europe standards and the relevant jurisprudence of the European Court of Human Rights, the MSI-MED will prepare standard-setting proposals on media pluralism and transparency of media ownership. MSI-MED will also study the gender equality dimensions of media coverage of elections, principles and rules regarding media coverage of elections.

Pillar/Sector/Programme

Pillar: Rule of Law

Sector: Strengthening the Rule of Law

Programme: Information society and Internet governance

Specific tasks

(i) Prepare a draft recommendation by the Committee of Ministers on media pluralism and transparency of media ownership;

(ii) Prepare a feasibility study on a possible standard-setting instrument on media coverage of elections and the use of the Internet in elections.

Composition

Members:

The Committee shall be composed of 13 experts, comprising seven government or member States' representatives, designated by the CDMSI, and six independent experts, appointed by the Secretary General with recognised expertise in the fields of freedom of expression

¹ Excerpt from **CM(2015)131 addfinal** 2 December 2015.

and media policy.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of all 13 members.

The composition of the Expert Committee will reflect an equitable geographic distribution amongst the member States and will take account of the gender equality dimension.

Other member States may designate representatives without defrayal of expenses.

Participants:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- the European Union (including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA));

- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America;

- the European Audiovisual Observatory;

- the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE);

- UN Agencies (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation – UNESCO)

- representatives of civil society, academic communities and media organisations.

Observers:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- Non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant cooperation activities.

Working methods

Meetings:

13 members, 2 meetings in 2016, 2 days

13 members, 2 meetings in 2017, 2 days

The Committee will appoint a Gender Equality Rapporteur from amongst its members.

The rules of procedure of the Committee are governed by Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.