



European Committee of Social Rights (ECSR), 272nd session

SYNOPSIS

Date 30/06/2014 - 04/07/2014

Activity Type Monitoring

Location Strasbourg, Agora building, room G.06

Directorate (Service) DGI Human Rights and Rule of Law (Department of the European Social Charter)

Origin/DG Remarks The European Committee of Social Rights is established by the European Social Charter. It is composed of 15 independent experts. It works on 2 specific objectives: treating collective complaints and examining national reports on the application of the ESC with a view to rule on the conformity of national situations under the Charter.

Objective(s) - To examine:

- The draft conclusions as regards the provisions postponed from the 271st session for Andorra, Georgia and Sweden, for Conclusions (2014)
- The draft conclusions as regards Denmark for Conclusions XX-3(2014) and the draft conclusions as regards Armenia, Finland, Italy, Montenegro, the Republic of Moldova, Norway, Romania and Serbia for Conclusions 2014

The Conclusions relating to all States Parties will be adopted in December 2014;

- To examine the pending collective complaints;
- To examine developments relating to the procedure on nonaccepted provisions;
- To review the Working methods of the Committee;
- To examine the working document on the relationship between EU law and the European Social Charter:
- To consider developments pertaining to the Turin conference;
- To examine the draft comments on the Recommendation of the

Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe 2044 (2014) on Ending child poverty in Europe.

- Output 1) The Committee examined the draft conclusions XX-3(2014) as regards Denmark as well as the draft conclusions 2014 as regards Andorra, Armenia, Finland, Georgia, Italy, Montenegro, the Republic of Moldova, Norway, Romania, Serbia and Sweden;
 - 2) The Rapporteurs in charge of the pending collective complaints informed the Committee of the progress of the proceedings and of the procedural decisions taken by the President since the previous session (Rules 27 and 28);
 - 3) The Committee adopted:
 - a decision on admissibility for European Roma and Travellers Forum (ERTF) v. Czech Republic, Complaint No. 104/2014;
 - a decision on the merits for Conference of European Churches (CEC) v. The Netherlands, Complaint No. 90/2013;
 - a decision on the merits for European Federation of National Organisations Working with the Homeless (FEANTSA) v. The Netherlands, Complaint No. 86/2012;
 - 4) The Committee was informed of the latest developments with respect to the procedure on non-accepted provisions. It adopted a report as regards Italy and a report as regards Belgium;
 - 5) The Committee postponed the examination of the working methods to its next session;
 - 6) The Committee examined the working document on the relationship between EU law and the European Social Charter;
 - 7) The Committee took note of the information provided on progress in the organisation of the Turin conference:
 - 8) The Committee adopted the comments on the Recommendation of the Parliamentary Assembly 2044 (2014)

Follow Up The Committee instructed the Secretariat:

- To notify:
 - The decisions regarding the collectives complaints according to the usual procedures;
 - The reports as regards the non-accepted provisions of Italy and Belgium according to the usual practice and to make them public;
- To follow the collective complaints procedure with the Rapporteurs

for the pending complaints;

- To remain in contact with the States Parties concerned with respect to the procedure on non-accepted provisions;
- To finalise the document on the relationship between EU law and the European Social Charter
- To proceed with the preparations for the Turin conference.

Participants Luis JIMENA QUESADA, President)

Monika SCHLACHTER, Vice-President Petros STANGOS, Vice-President

Colm O'CINNEIDE, General Rapporteur (absent)

Lauri LEPPIK (30 June – 3 July)

Birgitta NYSTRÖM

Rüchan IŞIK

Alexandru ATHANASIU (absent)

Elena MACHULSKAYA

Jarna PETMAN

Giuseppe PALMISANO Karin LUKAS (1-4 July)

Eliane CHEMLA József HAJDÚ Marcin WUJCZYK

CoE Secretariat Régis BRILLAT, Executive Secretary

Henrik KRISTENSEN, Deputy Executive Secretary