

Strasbourg, 23 July 2015



CAHDI (2015) 18

COMMITTEE OF LEGAL ADVISERS ON PUBLIC INTERNATIONAL LAW (CAHDI)

Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the CAHDI

50th meeting Strasbourg, 24-25 September 2015

Public International Law Division and Treaty Office Directorate of Legal Advice and Public International Law, DLAPIL

cahdi@coe.int - fax +33 (0)3 90 21 51 31 - www.coe.int/cahdi

ELECTION OF THE CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR OF THE CAHDI

1. The terms of office of Mr Paul RIETJENS (Belgium) and Ms Päivi KAUKORANTA (Finland), respectively Chair and Vice-Chair of the CAHDI, expire on 31 December 2015.

2. Resolution *CM/Res*(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods¹ lists the rules applicable on this matter:

Article 12 – Chair

a. Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair. However, the Chair of a subordinate body may be appointed by the steering or ad hoc committee to which it is answerable.

b. The Chair shall conduct proceedings and sum up the conclusions whenever he or she thinks necessary. He or she may call to order a speaker who departs from the subject under discussion or from the committee's terms of reference. The Chair shall retain the right to speak and to vote in her/his capacity as a member of the committee, except in cases where an additional expert from the same country has been appointed to sit on that committee.

c. The Vice-Chair shall replace the Chair if the latter is absent or otherwise unable to preside the meeting. If the Vice-Chair is absent, the Chair shall be replaced by another member of the Bureau, appointed by the latter or, where there is no Bureau, by a member of the committee appointed by the committee.

d. Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot². In steering committees, the election shall be held by secret ballot, in other committees by a show of hands, unless a member of the committee requests a secret ballot.

e. The term of office of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be one year. It may be renewed once.

3. In light of the above, the CAHDI is called upon to elect a Chair and a Vice-Chair for a period of one year, from 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2016.

4. The attached table lists the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the CAHDI since its creation.

¹ Adopted by the Committee of Ministers on 9 November 2011, at the 1125th meeting of the Ministers' Deputies.

² Pursuant to Article 11 of Annex 1 to the Resolution, voting requires the quorum. According to Article 5 of Annex 1 to the Resolution, there shall be a quorum if two-thirds of the members of the committee are present.

Year	Meeting	Chair	Vice-Chair
2015	50	Mr Paul Rietjens (BE)	Ms Päivi Kaukoranta (FI)
	49	Mr Paul Rietjens (BE)	Ms Päivi Kaukoranta (FI)
2014	48	Ms Liesbeth Lijnzaad* (NL)	Mr Paul Rietjens* (BE)
	47	Ms Liesbeth Lijnzaad* (NL)	Mr Paul Rietjens* (BE)
2013	46	Ms Liesbeth Lijnzaad (NL)	Mr Paul Rietjens (BE)
	45	Ms Liesbeth Lijnzaad (NL)	Mr Paul Rietjens (BE)
2012	44	Ms Edwige Belliard* (FR)	-
	43	Ms Edwige Belliard* (FR)	Ms Concepción Escobar Hernàndez* (ES)
2011	42	Ms Edwige Belliard (FR)	Ms Concepción Escobar Hernàndez (ES)
	41	Ms Edwige Belliard (FR)	Ms Concepción Escobar Hernàndez (ES)
2010	40	Mr Rolf Einar Fife* (NO)	Ms Edwige Belliard* (FR)
	39	Mr Rolf Einar Fife* (NO)	Ms Edwige Belliard* (FR)
2009	38	Mr Rolf Einar Fife (NO)	Ms Edwige Belliard (FR)
	37	Mr Rolf Einar Fife (NO)	-
2008	36	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)	Mr Rolf Einar Fife* (NO)
	35	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)	Mr Rolf Einar Fife* (NO)
2007	34	Sir Michael Wood (UK)	Mr Rolf Einar Fife (NO)
	33	Sir Michael Wood (UK)	Mr Rolf Einar Fife (NO)
2006	32	Ms Dascalopoulou-Livada* (GR)	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)
	31	Ms Dascalopoulou-Livada* (GR)	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)
2005	30	Ms Dascalopoulou-Livada (GR)	Sir Michael Wood (UK)
	29	Ms Dascalopoulou-Livada (GR)	Sir Michael Wood (UK)
2004	28	Mr Michel* (CH)	Ms Dascalopoulou-Livada* (GR)
	27	Mr Michel* (CH)	Ms Dascalopoulou-Livada* (GR)
2003	26 25	Mr Michel (CH) Mr Michel (CH)	-
2002	24	Mr Tomka* (SK)	Mr Michel* (CH)
	23	Mr Tomka* (SK)	Mr Michel* (CH)
2001	22	Mr Tomka (SK)	Mr Michel (CH)
	21	Mr Tomka (SK)	Mr Michel (CH)
2000	20	Mr Hilger* (DE)	Mr Tomka* (SK)
	19	Mr Hilger* (DE)	Mr Tomka* (SK)
1999	18	Mr Hilger (DE)	Mr Tomka (SK)
	17	Mr Hilger (DE)	Mr Tomka (SK)
1998	16	Mr Szenasi* (HU)	Mr Caflish* (CH)
	15	Mr Szenasi* (HU)	Mr Caflish* (CH)
1997	14	Mr Szenasi (HU)	Mr Caflish (CH)
	13	Mr Szenasi (HU)	Mr Caflish (CH)
1996	12	Mr Bos* (NL)	Mr Szenasi* (HU)
	11	Mr Bos*(NL)	Mr Szenasi* (HU)
1995	10	Mr Bos (NL)	Mr Szenasi (HU)
	9	Mr Bos (NL)	Mr Szenasi (HU)
1994	8	Mr Puissochet (FR)	Mr Bos (NL)
	7	Mr Puissochet (FR)	Mr Bos (NL)
1993	6	Mr Corell* (SE)	Mr Puissochet* (FR)
	5	Mr Corell* (SE)	Mr Puissochet* (FR)

ſ	1992	4	Mr Corell (SE)	Mr Puissochet (FR)
		3 2	Mr Corell (SE) Mr Türk (AT)	Mr Puissochet (FR) Mr Corell (SE)
	1991	1	Mr Türk (AT)	Mr Corell (SE)

(*) Second term of office of one year, nonrenewable (see Article 12 (e), Appendix1, Resolution CM/Res(2011)24).