Co-management in the Council of Europe youth sector: landmarks

1960: PACE Resolution 186(1960) suggesting the creation of a European youth centre.

1962: first draft concept of a European youth centre on the initiative of the CDCC (the Steering committee for Culture, Education, Youth and Sport): a residential building with a capacity of 60 persons; a meeting and training place for NGYOs 'leaders. The project is considered too expensive and there are disagreements within the CDCC concerning the objectives and tasks of such a youth centre. However, the CDCC agreed to propose to establish an experimental European youth centre.

1963: creation of an experimental European youth centre: information sessions for youth NGO leaders on European issues; seminars on youth issues; TCs on the organisation of international youth activities; English and French language courses. These activities took place first in the town of Obernai (30 km from Strasbourg) and then in the CoE premises. The programme was elaborated by a Board composed of 6 governments and 5 youth NGOs. An advisory group of these 5 youth NGOs also met once a year to help preparing the programme. However, the final decision concerning the programme was taken by the CDCC.

1964: creation of the Council of European National youth committees (CENYC), the umbrella structure of national youth councils in Europe.

1971: the permanent European Youth Centre was created and the building was finished in 1972.

1972: Creation of the European Co-ordination Bureau of INGYOs (ECB).

The European Youth Centre becomes operational on 1 June 1972.

The decision-making process was based on co-management:

Advisory Committee

8 INGYOs having consultative status with the CoE designated by the Committee of Ministers on proposal of the European Co-ordination Bureau of INGYOs (ECB) and 8 National Youth Councils designated by the Committee of Ministers on proposal of the Council of European National Youth Committee (CENYC).

Governing Board

8 governments designated by the Committee of Ministers + 8 youth NGOs designated by the Advisory Council (4 NYCs + 4 INGYOs).

1972 (15 May): creation of the European Youth Foundation ¹by Resolution (72) 17 of the Committee of Ministers, following a proposal by the Board and Advisory group of the experimental European Youth Centre and the Parliamentary Assembly (PACE Rec. 592 and Resolution 464(1970). The EYF was established as an independent establishment with its own structures, including own secretariat, as follows:

Intergovernmental Committee

The highest decision-making body of the EYF (equivalent of the Committee of Ministers), composed of the governments of the 18 countries members of the EYF. Decides on the budget and financial regulations.

Advisory Committee

8 INGYOs having consultative status with the CoE designated by the Intergovernmental Committee of the EYF on proposal of the European Coordination Bureau of INGYOs (ECB) and 8 National Youth Councils designated by the Intergovernmental Committee of the EYF on proposal of the Council of European National Youth Committee (CENYC).

Governing Board

8 governments designated by the Intergovernmental Committee (among the countries members of the EYF) + 8 youth NGOs designated by the Advisory Council (4 NYCs + 4 INGYOs).

1975: Decision of the Committee of Ministers to prolong the EYF for an unlimited period.

1977: extension of the European Youth Centre Strasbourg

1978: creation of the Youth Forum of the European Communities

1982: creation of the Ad Hoc Committee of Governmental Experts on Youth (CAHJE), having the task of promoting intergovernmental co-operation in the youth field (21 member states).

1985: 1st Conference of Ministers responsible for youth (in Strasbourg)

1st European Youth week (

1988: transformation of the CAHJE into the CDEJ.

¹ With an initial programme budget of 3000 000 FF

First reform of the co-management structures: merging of the governing Boards and Advisory Committees of the EYC and EYF respectively in single bodies (one Governing Board and one Advisory Committee of the youth sector).

The Advisory Committee is composed of 16 INGYOs and 8 NYCs + 1 representative of "non organised youth".

The Governing Board is composed of 12 members of the Advisory Committee and 12 members of the CDEJ.

1990: first in-country TC for NGO leaders and multipliers (Hungary)

1991: creation of the Partial Agreement on the Youth Card

1992: creation of the Youth Directorate and principle decision of the Committee of Ministers to establish a second European Youth Centre in a country of Central and Eastern Europe.

Second European Youth week.

1993: the Committee of Ministers accepts the proposal of the Hungarian government to host the second European Youth Centre in Budapest.

1995: opening of the Budapest European Youth Centre for an experimental period of 3 years.

Creation of a partnership between the CoE and the International Union of railways to support the mobility of disadvantaged young people.

Third European Youth Week (as part of the first All different-all equal Campaign)

1996: creation of the European Youth Forum (merging of ECB, CENYC and Youth Forum of the European Communities).

1997: creation of a partnership between the Council of Europe and ERYICA.

1998: reform of the Council of Europe youth structures: a number of governments considered that the role and tasks of the current co-management structures were not clear, even confusing; that the youth sector did not responded enough to the CoE priorities and could not demonstrate sufficiently the value of its work. The reform resulted in the re-definition/clarification of the priorities and approaches of the youth sector as well as in a change in the co-management structures as follows:

CDEJ

No major changes. Clarification of its terms of reference

Advisory Council on Youth

- 13 INGYOs + 7 NYCs designated by the Committee of Ministers on proposal of the European Youth Forum;

- 5 INGYOs not members of the European Youth Forum;

- 5 non-governmental youth structures involved in youth policy areas relevant to the Council of Europe youth sector, the idea being that these 5 youth structures would be chosen according to the 3 year priorities of the youth sector and their potential contribution to these priorities. These 5 INGYOs + 5 other structures are designated by the Committee of Ministers on proposal of the Secretary General of the CoE.

Joint Council on Youth

Composed of the members of the CDEJ + members of the Advisory Council. Its main task is to "develop a common position on the priorities, annual/pluriannual objectives, the main budget envelopes and the necessary budget specifications of the youth sector as a whole, within the political and budgetary framework established by the Committee of Ministers".

Programming Committee on Youth

8 members of the CDEJ + 8 members of the Advisory Council on Youth designated by the CDEJ and Advisory Council respectively.

2000: creation of the Directorate of Youth and Sport

2001: creation of the Directorate General of Education, Culture and Heritage, Youth and Sport (DG IV).

2006: modification in the terms of reference of the Advisory Council, which comprises "10 youth NGOs or networks not members of the European Youth Forum..."

2006-2007: second All different-all equal Campaign.

2009: new presentation of the CoE terms of reference of committees (e.g. better connected with the CoE priorities).

2011: creation of the Directorate of Democratic citizenship and Participation (Youth + Education), within the Directorate General of Democracy.