

European Treaty Series - No. 78

European Convention on Social Security

Paris, 14.XII.1972

Annex I – Definition of territories and nationals of the Contracting Parties (Article 1, sub-paragraph b)

This text was prepared according to the decision taken by the European Social Security Committee (CDSS) during its 37th Meeting (21-24 May 1991), decision of which the Committee of Ministers took note during the 461st meeting of the Ministers' Deputies in September 1991:

"40. Consequently, the CDSS instructed the Secretariat to prepare and publish at appropriate intervals the text of the official annexes containing the text adopted by the Committee of Ministers in 1972, and modified by the Committee of Ministers in 1977, as amended since only by the Contracting Parties to the Convention. In this document the distinction between the annexes relating to Contracting Parties to the Convention and those relating to other member States, unchanged since the Convention was drafted, should be clearly drawn."

For this purpose, appendices relating to Parties are typed in bold, the others in italic characters.

Austria

Territory: - the territory of Austria.

Nationals: - persons of Austrian nationality.

Belgium

Territory: – the territory of Belgium.

Nationals: - persons of Belgian nationality.

Cyprus

Territory: – the territory of the Republic of Cyprus. Nationals: – citizens of the Republic of Cyprus.

Denmark

Territory: - the territory of Denmark, with the exception of the Faroe Islands and

Greenland.

Nationals: – persons of Danish nationality.

^(*) Status as of 1 January 2014.

France

Territory: - the territory of the European Departments and of the overseas

Departments (Guadeloupe, Guiana, Martinique and Réunion) of the

French Republic.

Nationals: - persons of French nationality.

Germany

Territory: – the territory in which the Basic Law for Germany is in force.

Nationals: – Germans within the meaning of the Basic Law for Germany.

Greece

Territory: – the territory of Greece.

Nationals: – persons of Greek nationality.

Iceland

Territory: – the territory of Iceland.

Nationals: - persons of Icelandic nationality.

Ireland

Territory: - the territory subject to the jurisdiction of the Government of Ireland.

Nationals: – persons of Irish nationality.

Italy

Territory: - the territory of Italy.

Nationals: - persons of Italian nationality.

Luxembourg

Territory: - the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Nationals: - persons of Luxembourg nationality.

Malta

Territory: – the territory of Malta and its dependencies.

Nationals: - citizens of Malta.

Netherlands

Territory: - the territory of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Europe, the

Netherlands Antilles and Aruba.

Nationals: - persons of Netherlands nationality.

Norway

Territory: - the territory of the Kingdom of Norway, including Spitzbergen, Jan

Mayen, and the Norwegian Dependencies.

Nationals: – persons of Norwegian nationality.

Portugal

Territory: - the territory of Portugal.

Nationals: - persons of Portuguese nationality.

Spain

Territory: - the territory of the Kingdom of Spain.
Nationals: - persons of Spanish nationality.

Sweden

Territory: - the territory of the Kingdom of Sweden.

Nationals: - persons of Swedish nationality.

Switzerland

Territory: – the territory of the Swiss Confederation. Nationals: – persons possessing Swiss nationality.

Turkey

Territory: - the territory of Turkey.

Nationals: - persons possessing Turkish nationality.

United Kingdom

Territory: - the territory of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern

Ireland, and for the purposes of certain of the Conventions specified in Annex III, the Isle of Man, the Island of Jersey, the Islands of Guernsey, Alderney, Herm and Jethou, but not the other territories for

whose international relations the United Kingdom is responsible.

Nationals: - citizens of the United Kingdom and Colonies.