

Strasbourg, 18/03/09

CAHDI (2009) 6

COMMITTEE OF LEGAL ADVISERS ON PUBLIC INTERNATIONAL LAW (CAHDI)

37th Meeting Strasbourg, 19-20 March 2009

ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIR OF THE CAHDI

Document prepared by the Secretariat

1. Due to the resignation of M. Luis Serradas Tavares (Portugal) as Vice-Chair of the CAHDI, the Committee is called upon to elect a Vice-Chair.

2. According to Article 12 of Appendix 1 to Resolution (2005) 47 of the Committee of Ministers, the CAHDI is called upon to elect a Vice-Chair for a term of office expiring 31 December 2009. The relevant provisions of Article 12 follow:

- a. Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair. However, the Chair of a subordinate body may be appointed by the steering or ad hoc committee to which it is answerable.
- b. The Chair shall conduct proceedings and sum up the conclusions whenever she/he thinks necessary. She/he may call to order a speaker who departs from the subject under discussion or from the committee's terms of reference. The Chair shall retain the right to speak and to vote in her/his capacity as a member of the committee, except in cases where an additional national expert has been appointed to sit on that committee.
- c. The Vice-Chair shall replace the Chair if the latter is absent or otherwise unable to preside over the meeting. If the Vice-Chair is absent, the Chair shall be replaced by another member of the bureau, appointed by the latter, or where there is no bureau by a member of the committee appointed by the committee.
- d. Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot. In steering committees, the election shall be held by secret ballot, in other committees by a show of hands, unless a member of the committee requests a secret ballot.
- e. The term of office of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be one year. It may be renewed once.
- 3. The table overleaf indicates the chairs and vice-chairs of the CAHDI since it was created.

Chairs and Vice-chairs of the CAHDI

Year	Meeting	Chair	Vice-chair
1991	1	Mr. Türk (A)	Mr. Corell (S)
1992	2 3 4	Mr. Türk (A) Mr. Corell (S) Mr. Corell (S)	Mr. Corell (S) Mr. Puissochet (F) Mr. Puissochet (F)
1993	5 6	Mr. Corell*(S) Mr. Corell*(S)	Mr. Puissochet* (F) Mr. Puissochet* (F)
1994	7	Mr. Puissochet (F)	Mr. Bos (NI)
	8	Mr. Puissochet (F)	Mr. Bos (NI)
1995	9	Mr. Bos (NI)	Mr. Szenasi (H)
	10	Mr. Bos (NI)	Mr. Szenasi (H)
1996	11	Mr. Bos* (NI)	Mr. Szenasi* (H)
	12	Mr. Bos* (NI)	Mr. Szenasi* (H)
1997	13	Mr. Szenasi (H)	Mr. Caflish (CH)
	14	Mr. Szenasi (H)	Mr. Caflish (CH)
1998	15	Mr. Szenasi* (H)	Mr. Caflish* (CH)
	16	Mr. Szenasi* (H)	Mr. Caflish* (CH)
1999	17	Mr. Hilger (D)	Mr. Tomka (SK)
	18	Mr. Hilger (D)	Mr. Tomka (SK)
2000	19	Mr. Hilger* (D)	Mr. Tomka* (SK)
	20	Mr. Hilger* (D)	Mr. Tomka* (SK)
2001	21	Mr. Tomka (SK)	Mr. Michel (CH)
	22	Mr. Tomka (SK)	Mr. Michel (CH)
2002	23	Mr. Tomka* (SK)	Mr. Michel* (CH)
	24	Mr. Tomka* (SK)	Mr. Michel* (CH)
2003	25 26	Mr. Michel (CH) Mr.Michel (CH)	-
2004	27	Mr. Michel* (CH)	Mrs Dascalopoulou-Livada (GR)
	28	Mr. Michel* (CH)	Mrs Dascalopoulou-Livada (GR)
2005	29	Mrs Dascalopoulou-Livada (GR)	Sir Michael Wood (UK)
	30	Mrs Dascalopoulou-Livada (GR)	Sir Michael Wood (UK)
2006	31	Mrs Dascalopoulou-Livada* (GR)	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)
	32	Mrs Dascalopoulou-Livada* (GR)	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)
2007	33	Sir Michael Wood (UK)	Rolf Einar Fife (NOR)
	34	Sir Michael Wood (UK)	Rolf Einar Fife (NOR)
2008	35	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)	Rolf Einar Fife* (NOR)
	36	Sir Michael Wood* (UK)	Rolf Einar Fife* (NOR)

^(*) Second one-year term, not renewable (cf. Art. 12, e, Appendix 1, Resolution (2005) 47).