

Strasbourg, 05/02/03

CAHDI (2003) 5

COMMITTEE OF LEGAL ADVISERS ON PUBLIC INTERNATIONAL LAW (CAHDI)

25th meeting Strasbourg, 17-18 March 2003

ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIR OF THE CAHDI FOR ONE YEAR

Secretariat Memorandum prepared by the Directorate General of Legal Affairs

1. Following the election of Ambassador Nicolas Michel (Switzerland) as Chairman of the CAHDI for 2003, the Vice-presidency is vacant.

2. According to Article 17 of Appendix 2 to Resolution (76) 3 of the Committee of Ministers, the CAHDI is called upon to elect a Vice-Chair for a period of one year expiring 31 December 2003. The relevant provisions of article 17 follow:

- a. Every committee shall elect a Chairman and Vice-Chairman. However, the Chairman of a committee answerable to a steering committee may be appointed by the latter.
- b. The Vice-Chairman shall replace the Chairman if the latter is absent or otherwise unable to take the Chair. If the Vice-Chairman is absent, the Chairman shall be replaced by another member of the bureau, appointed by the latter, or where there is no bureau by a member of the committee appointed by the committee.
- c. Election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot. In steering committees, the election shall be held by secret ballot, in other committees by a show of hands, unless a member of the committee requests a secret ballot.
- d. Wherever practicable, the Chairman shall be appointed at the end of the meeting preceding expiry of the outgoing Chairman's term of office. Otherwise, he shall be appointed at the beginning of the meeting, in which case the Secretary General or his representative shall take the Chair temporarily.
- e. The term of office of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman is one year. It can be renewed once.

3. The table overleaf indicates the chairs and vice-chairs of the CAHDI since it was created.

Chairs and Vice-chairs of the CAHDI

Year	Meeting	Chair	Vice-chair
1991	1	Mr Türk (A)	Mr Corell (S)
1992	2	Mr Türk (A)	Mr Corell (S)
	3	Mr Corell (S)	Mr Puissochet (F)
	4	Mr Corell (S)	Mr Puissochet (F)
1993	5	Mr Corell ² (S)	Mr Puissochet ² (F)
	6	Mr Corell ² (S)	Mr Puissochet ² (F)
1994	7	Mr Puissochet (F)	Mr Bos (NI)
	8	Mr Puissochet (F)	Mr Bos (NI)
1995	9	Mr Bos (NI)	Mr Szenasi (H)
	10	Mr Bos (NI)	Mr Szenasi (H)
1996	11	Mr Bos² (NI)	Mr Szenasi² (H)
	12	Mr Bos² (NI)	Mr Szenasi² (H)
1997	13	Mr Szenasi (H)	Mr Caflish (CH)
	14	Mr Szenasi (H)	Mr Caflish (CH)
1998	15	Mr Szenasi ² (H)	Mr Caflish ² (CH)
	16	Mr Szenasi ² (H)	Mr Caflish ² (CH)
1999	17	Mr Hilger (D)	Mr Tomka (SK)
	18	Mr Hilger (D)	Mr Tomka (SK)
2000	19	Mr Hilger ² (D)	Mr Tomka ² (SK)
	20	Mr Hilger² (D)	Mr Tomka² (SK)
2001	21	Mr Tomka (SK)	Mr Michel (CH)
	22	Mr Tomka (SK)	Mr Michel (CH)
2002	23	Mr Tomka ² (SK)	Mr Michel ² (CH)
	24	Mr Tomka² (SK)	Mr Michel ² (CH)
2003	25	Mr Michel (CH)	

(²) Second one-year term, not renewable (cf. Art. 17,f, Appendix 2, Resolution (76) 3).